Motherboard to OC Q6600 with? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-09-2007, 02:21 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 15
Default Motherboard to OC Q6600 with?

I'm wondering whats the best suited motherboard atm, that is best fit to overclock the Q6600 to break 3.4ghz and further with...

- I don't care if it supports SLI or not
- Must be cheaper then the Striker Extreme

I did some searching and these three were the ones that kept coming up.
- GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
- EVGA 122-CK-NF68-A1 nForce 680i

Im stumped as to which one is the best for OC'ing the Q6600. Need help

Shinzen is offline  
Old 10-09-2007, 03:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
Uber Sanoob Techie
san21893's Avatar
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Westchester County, New York
Posts: 634
Send a message via AIM to san21893
Default Re: Motherboard to OC Q6600 with?

I've heard the 680i is good but it is the odd one of out of those 3 motherboards. The DS3R and the p5k have the Intel p35 chipset, which is currently best known for overclocking. I recommend the p5k which I believe supports crossfire. (deluxe if you're willing to spend $$$) The P35-DS3R is a very good board but if you want to save alot of cash go for the DS3P. What you will lose is 4 sata ports (there are 8 on DS3R), and RAID support. If you want crossfire, go for the DS3P, it is slightly more expensive but it may be a nice option for future expansion. Out of the boards I've mentioned, it's really just personal choice.

If you're sole purpose is overclocking, the DS3P is fine and will suit your needs.

san21893 is offline  
Old 10-09-2007, 04:10 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
TheOtis's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default Re: Motherboard to OC Q6600 with?

No, no, no and no! 680i is NO BUENO. Not stable at all compared to P35 chipsets. And from what I've seen 680i boards arent nearly as cheap as P35's.

Aslong as you pick a mobo that's a P35 chipest, you should be set for overclocking. Check into the Gigabyte mobo I have in my signature. It overclcoks very, very well and I'd recomment it for anyone looking for a mobo for an Intel proc.
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 10-09-2007, 06:58 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 15
Default Re: Motherboard to OC Q6600 with?

mmm I guess I'll wait to see some more replies
Shinzen is offline  
Old 10-09-2007, 10:17 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
meat_helmet's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: Motherboard to OC Q6600 with?

The DS3R is a favorite here. Its fairly cheap and a good overclocker. The P5K is slightly better for overclocking the Q6600, however, it is more expensive. You just have to work out how much OCing you want for your money...
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 10-09-2007, 10:28 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
veedubfreak's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Motherboard to OC Q6600 with?

I have had 0 problems with my p35-ds3r. You might also look at the abit p35 board as i have read its one of the best overclockers around.
Also, a cheaper alternative is the p35-ds3l, the difference between the boards is that it doesnt have raid support like the R does.
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 10-09-2007, 10:43 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: VT
Posts: 15
Default Re: Motherboard to OC Q6600 with?

Ive got the biostar tp35d2-a7 105 at newegg -30 rebate 85.
Ive got it prime95 stable at 9x390. but nothing past that booted to windows and kicked restarted at 9x400 after about ten seconds in prime95.

My Q6600 B3 @ 4140 thats not mine
rogcaw82 is offline  
Old 10-09-2007, 11:02 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
MetalOwns's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Franklin, WI
Posts: 432
Send a message via AIM to MetalOwns
Default Re: Motherboard to OC Q6600 with?

I've got a DS3. Can't get my processor stable past 3GHz though...I think it might be my RAM or my PSU, because I'm using the one that came with my case, although I'm not sure how much effect the PSU would have.
Intel Core2Duo E6600 (2.40) @ OC'ing
2 gigs G.Skill DDR2 800 RAM @ OC'ing
2x 320 Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 (RAID 0)
EVGA Ge-Force 7900 GS KO @ 710/985 @ 1.48v/2.20v
LITE-ON 20x DVD+/-R Burner/12x DVD-RAM w/ LightScribe
LITE-ON 48x CD Burner/16x DVD-ROM
Hanns·G 19" Widescreen LCD
Windows Vista Ultimate Edition
MetalOwns is offline  
Old 10-10-2007, 03:14 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
gurusan's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Motherboard to OC Q6600 with?

poop on 680i + quad.

in fact...poop on 680i
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 10-10-2007, 04:02 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
Preacher's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ra'anana, Israel
Posts: 2,395
Default Re: Motherboard to OC Q6600 with?

lol Gigabyte are good Ocers, gurusan I need to talk to you message me via msn/pm me please.

__________________ - Lifting one stone at a time.
Preacher is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Something is Faling, motherboard, CPU or HDD? HELP!! ChuckHCash Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 08-15-2007 04:52 PM
Motherboard Questions & Help Me Find a Mobo Cunjo New Systems | Building and Buying 37 07-13-2007 12:24 AM
Upgrading motherboard, processor and RAM Uberg New Systems | Building and Buying 14 06-03-2007 06:03 PM
it wasnt the motherboard!!!!! pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 8 06-03-2007 12:02 AM
Which motherboard? pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 9 06-02-2007 10:00 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:16 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.