Most popular OC'ing programs for Intel CPU's? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-27-2004, 10:40 AM   #1 (permalink)
Desktop Engineer
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: East Coast, US
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to Thresh
Default Most popular OC'ing programs for Intel CPU's?

Theres lots out there but anyone know one of the best or most easy to use?
__________________

Thresh is offline  
Old 10-27-2004, 04:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 546
Default

OC'ing programs? Do you mean programs that monitor stats like temp and clcok speed?
__________________

__________________

Musjunk22 is offline  
Old 10-27-2004, 05:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 65
Send a message via AIM to Silent_Fear
Default

If you want to overclock, you need to adjust the FSB or multiplier in your BIOS. I don't believe there are any programs to use to overclock. There are programs that will CPU respond faster with a higher priority like Optimum XP. Is that what you asking for? or like Musjunk said, programs that monitor the temp and stuff?
Silent_Fear is offline  
Old 10-27-2004, 07:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Desktop Engineer
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: East Coast, US
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to Thresh
Default

My bad, I thought OC'ing was done through normal programs. I never saw the option of doing that in your BIOS though... is there something you have to download or what?
Thresh is offline  
Old 10-27-2004, 08:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 546
Default

Go to the "Overclocking, PC Building & Case Mod" forum page and click the second thread on the list called "Basics on how to overclock" Just read through that and you should be set.
__________________

Musjunk22 is offline  
Old 10-27-2004, 08:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

Not all motherboards are appropriate as you must have a flexible BIOS to overclock with success.
ag3 is offline  
Old 10-27-2004, 10:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 393
Default

yes i u have a computer thats built by a company such as sony and whatnot then the overclocking options in ur bios will be locked
__________________
\"It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it.\"
-Aristotle
_SiLv3R_ is offline  
Old 10-27-2004, 11:29 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 546
Default

Yeah I think all intel and dell boards are locked too.
__________________

Musjunk22 is offline  
Old 10-27-2004, 11:54 PM   #9 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

i don't have to go into bios and mess around. my ASUS components came with overclocking software, it's all point and click interface and then if you OC it too much, when you reboot, the changes go back to stock without you going back into safe mode and changing things back manually.
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 10-28-2004, 08:30 AM   #10 (permalink)
Desktop Engineer
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: East Coast, US
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to Thresh
Default

grrr thats means my mobo the 915p is locked, anyway to unlock it?
__________________

Thresh is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.