More Power - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-26-2005, 07:42 AM   #31 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 10
Default

i've had a re-think, and decided to drop the other hdd's (and get them later) and go for the ZALMAN TNN-500AF, but power may still be a factor, here are the components after a few other changes:

LG GSA4160 DL 16x DVD R/RW/RAM IDE Burner - OEM Beige
Kingston HyperX 1GB 400MHz DDR Non-ECC CL2 (2-3-2-6-1) DIMM
Kingston HyperX 1GB 400MHz DDR Non-ECC CL2 (2-3-2-6-1) DIMM
Maxtor 7Y250M0 250GB Serial ATA 7200RPM 8MB
Gigabyte GA-K8NF-9 nForce4 Skt 939, FSB1800, PCI-E, DDR400, SATA, GB LAN, 8ch Audio, USB2, Firewire, ATX
AMD Athlon 64 FX-55 / 1MB / 2600Mhz / Socket 939 / Processor
MSI RX850 XT Platinum ATi Radeon X850XT PE 256MB DDR3 PCI-Express

costing £2430.32
or in USD $4,563.31

if anyone has a link to a page with a load of component power usages on it could they please post that, thanks in advance.
__________________

Kinshou Ookawa is offline  
Old 01-26-2005, 12:33 PM   #32 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 504
Default

well, back to the original question. If you are serious about stability and really running a nice box I would go with PC Power & Cooling Turbo-Cool 510 Deluxe. Or if you really need a crap load of power the ZIPPY/EMACS 700W PSL-6701P-SATA. (that beast pushes 45A on the 12v rail )
__________________

__________________
<img src = \"http://filebox.vt.edu/users/chuck527/My%20Work/Sig.jpg\">
ThirtySixBelow is offline  
Old 01-26-2005, 01:39 PM   #33 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 902
Send a message via AIM to Sevoma
Cool

This is my kick-*** server lol. White Box Linux 3.0 (might put Debian soon)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Uptime:
13:37:45 up 35 days, 20:48, load average: 0.00, 0.00, 0.00

System Information:
Kernal: 2.4.21-4.EL


Memory Usage (MB):
total used free shared buffers cached
Mem: 122 120 2 0 44 30
Swap: 376 12 363


Disk Usage:
Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
/dev/hda2 5.5G 3.6G 1.7G 68% /
/dev/hda1 99M 9.1M 85M 10% /boot
none 62M 0 62M 0% /dev/shm


CPU Information:
processor : 0
model name : Pentium II (Deschutes)
__________________
<a href=\"http://truecombat.us\"><img src=\"http://www.truecombat.us/images/buttons/tcusbannersmall.jpg\"></a>

Sevoma Web Hosting
Sevoma is offline  
Old 01-26-2005, 06:18 PM   #34 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Craziness I tells ya! Craziness!
Nubius is offline  
Old 01-26-2005, 07:12 PM   #35 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

I've been considering putting together a small LAN server machine from older parts once I've built my new system and storing a large majority of my files that all my computers need access to on it and just keeping in running non stop, possibly even setting up a small Natural Selection or Counterstrike Server on it, but I don't know how well it would do on 54mbs wireless transfer rates.

Oh yeah, just for clarification so that people don't get the wrong idea, I may have mentioned terabytes in this thread, but 1000GB is not one terabyte, one terabyte is equal to 1024GB.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 01-26-2005, 07:53 PM   #36 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 10
Default

and if you want to get REALLY accurate than you could quote a terrabyte in bytes,giving you: 1099511627776 bytes in a terabyte :nerd:
Kinshou Ookawa is offline  
Old 01-26-2005, 07:55 PM   #37 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gaara
Oh yeah, just for clarification so that people don't get the wrong idea, I may have mentioned terabytes in this thread, but 1000GB is not one terabyte, one terabyte is equal to 1024GB.
you'd need like 4*250GB drives, and another 20GB to get an actual 1024GB i think. cuz when you format and install OS and pagefile and what not...you lose like 5-6GB on each drive.
__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 01-26-2005, 07:58 PM   #38 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 10
Default

and dont forget that when a hdd is said to be 250GB that is its unformatted capacity, so just in formatting the drive you loose some space (around 4 gig lost on a 60gig hdd)
Kinshou Ookawa is offline  
Old 01-26-2005, 08:02 PM   #39 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 10
Default

anyway, back to the point of this thread.

can anyone supply links to sites that supply secondsry psu's (like ones for peltier modules, but that can have normal type power plugs attached)
__________________

Kinshou Ookawa is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.