More Power - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-25-2005, 08:19 AM   #21 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 10
Default

i was just reading in other posts regarding AGP and PCIe cards, apparently the PCIe cards are simultaneously bi-directional (send and receive data from the cpu at the same time), regarding mobo's with PCIe slots, are there any good manufacturers that stand above the rest?

and the ZALMAN 500AF costs a whopping $1200 (or an unfair £900 )
__________________

Kinshou Ookawa is offline  
Old 01-25-2005, 08:41 AM   #22 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

wow, that's an expensive case.....

if you're not overclocking, BFG 6800 GT's in PCI-E are good cards, which already have a 20MHZ increase in core frequency before it's out of the box. they can be found here for $470 each
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-25-2005, 08:48 AM   #23 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

you're getting this?

http://www.xoxide.com/zalman6.html

i'd save that $1200 and make my own freaking noislelss case lmao. i'm going to buold an entire computer that will hopefully cost less than that and it'll be pretty powerful...
__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 01-25-2005, 08:50 AM   #24 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

he's already bought it, like 3 years ago
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-25-2005, 09:06 AM   #25 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 10
Default

3 years ago i decided to build my first computer:

here are what its specs were:

amd athlon xp2400
sapphire 9500 128mb (not pro, not all in wondeer, just the standard one )
msi kt4 ultra mobo
256mb ddr333 (1 stick)
60gb maxtor ata-100 hdd 2mb cache
nokia style case with 350watt psu (silver)
liteon 48x24x48 cd burner
no monitor (i had a spare 19" mitsubishi diamond plus 91)
i had a spare fdd as well

and that was it

this time i'm going all out , only factor is price - no more than £2500, but preferably around £2000
Kinshou Ookawa is offline  
Old 01-25-2005, 10:37 AM   #26 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

This case is my pick for the best server case for the price if you are interested in case opinions.

I would honestly consider buying a PCI RAID controller and researching and determining the best RAID to use, although RAID 0 and 1 are popular and are both quite good, they are technically not considered true RAID arrays, and they are basically just toned down arrays from servers geared towards the home PC user. There are RAID 0-10 availible, as well as a RAID 50 I believe, so you should determine the one to best suit your needs. Keep in mind that RAID 0 and 1 are considered the "budget" RAIDs and the others can get quite pricey.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 01-25-2005, 05:35 PM   #27 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

how can they not be "true RAID arrays?"
it means 2 or more drives working together to get fsater and/or mroe reliable drive access. RAID 0 and 1 do that
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-25-2005, 06:48 PM   #28 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Bleh, I wrote down RAID 1 for some reason, I guess I was still pretty tired this morning, so ignore the whole comment about it not being a true RAID.

However, a RAID 0 is not a "true" RAID array by definition because it is still not fault tolerant, and the definition of a RAID is a setup of more than one hard drives which is completely fault tolerant, which basically means that a drive can fail yet the data will remain uncorrupted.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 01-25-2005, 06:51 PM   #29 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

oh I see
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-25-2005, 06:59 PM   #30 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Yeah that case is insane. I first saw it at www.svc.com

Will be quite interesting
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.