Monitor Problem - Temperatures - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-27-2004, 08:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 26
Default Monitor Problem - Temperatures

Hi,

I am currently having problems running most games. My monitor turns off/goes into stand-by, only way to fix it is to unplug/restart the computer.

I think my card is overheating, on the desktop while idle, my GPU temperature is 70C, I have no idea if this is normal or not.

Games ive tried - Half Life 2, Raven Sheild, MOH:AA, Far Cry, Battlefield.

Out of all these only MOH:AA worked, well I played it for 20 minutes. Which is good compared to the 30 seconds avg. with other games!

With Half life 2 the monitor goes when I actually start playing i.e. just after the G-man stops talking.

This is really quite annoying, I want to rule out that its a hardware problem untill I try everything to do with software.

When I have a lower Refresh Rate,60Hz it usually lasts about a minute say, but when I have it 85herts it goes instantly, just about. Also when I have it on really low graphics it lasts a bit longer, on Far Cry I got to the aircraft carrier part then the monitor went.

Current Spec:

3.0Ghz Intel P4
1024mb DDR PC3200 RAM
P4S800 motherboard
Geforce 6800 LE version


Anyone got any suggestions?

Cheers,
Ciaran
__________________

Timothy is offline  
Old 11-29-2004, 09:20 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

One thing to try that is easy is playing your game with the side pannel off of your case. This will allow for better air flow and you can see if it is a cooling issue. Once you determine it is a cooling issue you can figure out how to get better cooling in your case.
__________________

__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 11-29-2004, 09:25 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 26
Default

Hi,

I have tried this. I played Half Life 2 in a window mode so I could see the temperatures I got it down to 54C before playing and then it went up to 60C and it crashed then. So i think that shows its not heat, but im not sure.

Thanks for replying.
Timothy is offline  
Old 11-29-2004, 09:26 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

How is your air circulation in your case? Do you have enough fans for exaust and intake? Is it your cpu or video card that is over heating?
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 11-29-2004, 09:34 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 26
Default

Ive only got one other fan apart from Heatsink fan and one the graphics card. Is there a way I can check the temperature on the CPU? The only way ive noticed is in the BIOS, but thats no use if i want to check when playing a game or under heavy load.

I am going to buy additional fans, but where do I plug them into? I only noticed one connection on my motherboard and thats used by the fan I currently have!

I have heard of PCI fans that go underneath a graphics card but where else can fans go.

Cheers
Timothy is offline  
Old 11-29-2004, 09:37 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

You can monitor your cpu temp with a program called speedfan or motherboard monitor 5. If you have an asus motherboard it comes with software to monitor the temps and more.

Where is the one case fan you have now?

You should have a intake fan at the front of your case, an exaust fan at the rear of your case. And if you want to make a hole in the side of your case you can put an intake fan over you pcu or your video card. Its not a bad idea to put more fans in or cut out places for more.
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 11-29-2004, 09:46 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 26
Default

The one I have is at the rear. I have an ASUS mobo and I only got the drivers with it. Can you download these programs?

I think this video card is broken anyway, I tried it in another computer same problem but it has never happened on the desktop or doing anything else other than playing games.

If this card is broken, is it just useless? Ive never heard of video card repair!

I am going to get a new case, the one I have now was designed way bak. Theres no vents really.

Thanks
Timothy is offline  
Old 11-29-2004, 09:50 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

Go here for the asus pc probe

http://www.majorgeeks.com/download.php?det=3301

as for the other two you can google them and download them.

What video card do you have? If it is broken it would be better to buy a new one. It wont really be worth it to repair it. If you are looking for newer stuff I am selling stuff on the buy/sell/trade forum.
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 11-29-2004, 10:00 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 26
Default

Geforce 6800 LE. I will probably sell this as faulty maybe. I will have a look at the trade forums, but I think these forums are based in America, im in Scotland.

I did actually get the software, didnt realise it was caled Asus Probe! It turns out my power supply fan isnt even doing anything, well when I went to monitor it stayed on ORPM.

I need a new PSU also then.

Thanks
Timothy is offline  
Old 11-29-2004, 10:02 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

Sure no problem. I am getting rid of alot of stuff in the buy/see/trade forums. Take a look.
__________________

__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.