Modify Laptop LCD Screen - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-24-2008, 03:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 489
Default Modify Laptop LCD Screen

I removed the screen from an old IBM Thinkpad 390e today and was hoping to hook it up to a VGA or other type of monitor cable. One problem, the wires are all different colors and there are more of them than a VGA cable.

I was wondering if it's possible to modify that connection to work with a normal cable and hook it up to my computer.
__________________

__________________
Torvalds was contemptuous of Microsoft's claims and has asked Redmond to name the patent infringements so that their veracity can be challenged and workarounds found.
"Naming them would either make it clear that Linux is not infringing at all (which is quite possible, especially if the patents are bad), or would make it possible to avoid infringing by coding around whatever silly thing they claim,"

"So the whole 'We have a list and we're not telling you' should tell you something. Don't you think that if Microsoft actually had some really foolproof patent, they'd just tell us and go, 'nyaah, nyaah, nyaah!'?"

whole story here: http://www.vnunet.com/vnunet/news/21...-microsoft-put
kpmwrestler is offline  
Old 05-24-2008, 04:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default Re: Modify Laptop LCD Screen

Is it possible? Yes

Is it something you can do easily/cheaply? No
__________________

__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 05-24-2008, 05:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 489
Default Re: Modify Laptop LCD Screen

how not easy/not cheap are we talking?
__________________
Torvalds was contemptuous of Microsoft's claims and has asked Redmond to name the patent infringements so that their veracity can be challenged and workarounds found.
"Naming them would either make it clear that Linux is not infringing at all (which is quite possible, especially if the patents are bad), or would make it possible to avoid infringing by coding around whatever silly thing they claim,"

"So the whole 'We have a list and we're not telling you' should tell you something. Don't you think that if Microsoft actually had some really foolproof patent, they'd just tell us and go, 'nyaah, nyaah, nyaah!'?"

whole story here: http://www.vnunet.com/vnunet/news/21...-microsoft-put
kpmwrestler is offline  
Old 05-24-2008, 05:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 489
Default Re: Modify Laptop LCD Screen

I can handle not easy, but not cheap...
__________________
Torvalds was contemptuous of Microsoft's claims and has asked Redmond to name the patent infringements so that their veracity can be challenged and workarounds found.
"Naming them would either make it clear that Linux is not infringing at all (which is quite possible, especially if the patents are bad), or would make it possible to avoid infringing by coding around whatever silly thing they claim,"

"So the whole 'We have a list and we're not telling you' should tell you something. Don't you think that if Microsoft actually had some really foolproof patent, they'd just tell us and go, 'nyaah, nyaah, nyaah!'?"

whole story here: http://www.vnunet.com/vnunet/news/21...-microsoft-put
kpmwrestler is offline  
Old 05-24-2008, 05:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default Re: Modify Laptop LCD Screen

Computer Forum, Computer Help | PC Club Forums - LCD Tutorial (Penguin case)
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 05-24-2008, 05:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Modify Laptop LCD Screen

You don't have a VGA out on your laptop?
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 05-24-2008, 05:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 489
Default Re: Modify Laptop LCD Screen

I have a VGA and an S-Video port on my laptop, but I just want the screen, nothing else.
__________________
Torvalds was contemptuous of Microsoft's claims and has asked Redmond to name the patent infringements so that their veracity can be challenged and workarounds found.
"Naming them would either make it clear that Linux is not infringing at all (which is quite possible, especially if the patents are bad), or would make it possible to avoid infringing by coding around whatever silly thing they claim,"

"So the whole 'We have a list and we're not telling you' should tell you something. Don't you think that if Microsoft actually had some really foolproof patent, they'd just tell us and go, 'nyaah, nyaah, nyaah!'?"

whole story here: http://www.vnunet.com/vnunet/news/21...-microsoft-put
kpmwrestler is offline  
Old 05-25-2008, 04:24 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Modify Laptop LCD Screen

Depends on the company that made the LCD screen, most are very similar, just gonna have to make sure you get really good connections considering it's a digital and not an analog signal... Well, some cases it's a analog signal.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 05-25-2008, 03:00 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 489
Default Re: Modify Laptop LCD Screen

It might be analog because the 390's are pretty old
__________________

__________________
Torvalds was contemptuous of Microsoft's claims and has asked Redmond to name the patent infringements so that their veracity can be challenged and workarounds found.
"Naming them would either make it clear that Linux is not infringing at all (which is quite possible, especially if the patents are bad), or would make it possible to avoid infringing by coding around whatever silly thing they claim,"

"So the whole 'We have a list and we're not telling you' should tell you something. Don't you think that if Microsoft actually had some really foolproof patent, they'd just tell us and go, 'nyaah, nyaah, nyaah!'?"

whole story here: http://www.vnunet.com/vnunet/news/21...-microsoft-put
kpmwrestler is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Laptop LCD is dim wforehand Laptops and Notebooks 7 01-29-2009 12:19 PM
laptop lcd problem WCAS Laptops and Notebooks 2 05-11-2008 12:27 AM
Problem: LCD laptop monitor is garbled when put on higher resolution. Wyumez Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 05-02-2008 09:39 PM
Replacing LCD Screen WorldIndustries Laptops and Notebooks 3 04-12-2008 08:17 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.