Modding my Raidmax Tower - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-11-2007, 11:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Modding my Raidmax Tower



As you can see in the picture, I plan to place a 120mm fan somewhere around there. What are some of the materials I need? I have the drilling bits and other equipments already. Do I need the grill and some filters? Pretty confused so please help.
__________________

phucng_10 is offline  
Old 07-13-2007, 11:47 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 46
Default Re: Modding my Raidmax Tower

This should be a pretty simple job. First you'll need your 120mm fan. A grill and filter will be up to you. A filter will help with dust but if you clean you rig on a semi-regular basis its not really a must have. The grill would be to keep things out of the fan (your fingers...). If you havent gotten the fan already just pick up a grill at the same time.

As for the drilling, your gonna need a hole saw. Only problem will be finding a 4.7" (120mm) hole saw. You next best bet would be to make a hole jig and use a dremel or like tool to fashion the hole. A a third option you could make a templet of the hole and follow the edges with a dremel. It will be a bit tricky but you want to take your time some that you have a perfectly round and smooth hole.

When you actually begin cutting you should cover the plexi on both sides with masking tape to prevent scratching and chipping. Also be careful on using too much pressure as plexi will fracture when cutting if your not careful. Once you get done with the hole you will need the chamfer the edge to ensure that the edges arnt sharp as this is where most cracks begin in plexiglass.

then all you have to do is line the fan up, mark the screw holes and drill them. Again being careful with the pressure.

Hope this helps
__________________

__________________
CPU: Q6600 @ 3.5/Thermalright 120 Extreme
MOBO: Gigabyte P35-DS3R
RAM: 2G Corsair 800 DDR2 XMS2
GPU: EVGA 7950 GT KO
PSU: Corsair HX520
Case: Lian Li PC-A05B modded
Ice8168 is offline  
Old 07-13-2007, 11:51 AM   #3 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Modding my Raidmax Tower

Aww man, if you lived near me, i'd let you use my laser cutter. Thats plexiglass right?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-13-2007, 12:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
QuaziBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 660
Default Re: Modding my Raidmax Tower

How big is your laser cutter? There is one at a highschool near me but its not large enough for a case panel. =(
__________________
Network Administrator /
Project Coordinator
Moli Industries LTD.
www.rapidts.com
QuaziBee is offline  
Old 07-13-2007, 12:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
QuaziBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 660
Default Re: Modding my Raidmax Tower

After you cut your hole, use fine (400 grit) sandpaper to smooth out the edge, you can also fix any irregularities this way. You can also use a polishing agent after that to make that edge nice and shiny.
__________________
Network Administrator /
Project Coordinator
Moli Industries LTD.
www.rapidts.com
QuaziBee is offline  
Old 07-13-2007, 12:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Modding my Raidmax Tower

big enough
but it did cost me alot
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-13-2007, 12:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
QuaziBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 660
Default Re: Modding my Raidmax Tower

(this is my last concurrent post here i swear)

If you are using a dremel tool you should practice on a scrap piece of acrylic to get the feel of how it reacts to the plastic.
__________________
Network Administrator /
Project Coordinator
Moli Industries LTD.
www.rapidts.com
QuaziBee is offline  
Old 07-13-2007, 05:25 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Modding my Raidmax Tower

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
Aww man, if you lived near me, i'd let you use my laser cutter. Thats plexiglass right?
I think it's plexiglass.
__________________

phucng_10 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just got my tuniq tower! Raknor Overclocking and Modding 10 06-25-2007 11:23 AM
Weekend Fun Vector Tower Defense Osiris PC Gaming 0 06-15-2007 03:44 PM
laying tower sideways? glennl Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 06-01-2007 05:53 PM
Full Tower Cases Showdown pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 24 05-28-2007 09:02 AM
Are Full Tower Cases Neccessary????????? macdawg New Systems | Building and Buying 21 05-26-2007 09:18 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.