Modding Mouse LED - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-13-2007, 12:56 AM   #21 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Modding Mouse LED

i googled it and changing the led from red to blue seems to be a hot mod
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 06-13-2007, 01:03 AM   #22 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
kfc469's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 928
Send a message via AIM to kfc469
Default Re: Modding Mouse LED

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg View Post
optical doo-hicky
hahahahahaha is that the technical term now?
__________________

__________________

kfc469 is offline  
Old 06-13-2007, 01:05 AM   #23 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mnelson07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 349
Default Re: Modding Mouse LED

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
i googled it and changing the led from red to blue seems to be a hot mod
By chance have any links that could provide a bit more information or perhaps a tutorial?
mnelson07 is offline  
Old 06-13-2007, 01:13 AM   #24 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mnelson07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 349
Default Re: Modding Mouse LED

I found a site with a lot of mods, brand specific!

Repair4Mouse: How to Clean, Upgrade, Repair, Mod, Disassemble a Computer Mouse
mnelson07 is offline  
Old 06-13-2007, 04:03 AM   #25 (permalink)
Custom User Title
 
decibaL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 341
Default Re: Modding Mouse LED

testing for resistance, when you want wattage? P = I * V, i personally do not see a R in that equation
__________________

decibaL is offline  
Old 06-13-2007, 09:58 AM   #26 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Modding Mouse LED

Quote:
Originally Posted by decibaL View Post
testing for resistance, when you want wattage? P = I * V, i personally do not see a R in that equation
Ohm(resistance)=V(voltage)/A(amp)
voltage is easy to find
ohm is the resistance
this gives amps
amps times volts equals watts, simple as that
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 06-13-2007, 12:44 PM   #27 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
QuaziBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 660
Default Re: Modding Mouse LED

The long tails on the LED's you were looking make for more usability, just cut off what you don't need. The LED in the back if for aesthetics only, it will have no effect on the performance of the mouse so you dont have to worry about that. The orrigional optical mice used lasers to bounce light off the surface untill techs discovered that most any bright light would do, LED's are super cheap and last longer than any other light source in the price range. The optical receptor uses a red LED in most cases because RED has a lower absorption rate than any other colors besides green. And the only reason you don't see green optics is for continuity. Our first lasers were red, and so are our LED's.
QuaziBee is offline  
Old 06-13-2007, 11:32 PM   #28 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default Re: Modding Mouse LED

i wouldnt suggest doing that, i did the same to my keyboard and it cost me a new PSU. the stock led was green on the keyboard but i wanted blue so i soldered in the 3 blue led lights to my my caps lock, scroll lock, and the number lock and within a week it left burn marks on my 20 pin connector

BTW is that a microsoft mouse? because it looks like the one im using right now
__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 06-13-2007, 11:33 PM   #29 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Modding Mouse LED

there could of been many other things that killed your psu...
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 06-13-2007, 11:47 PM   #30 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default Re: Modding Mouse LED

hahahaha check this out!
Project Cryo
__________________

__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which keyboard and mouse should I get? pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 30 02-07-2008 03:47 AM
vista restart mouse problem Broom Microsoft Windows and Software 1 05-26-2007 11:31 AM
My mouse is being retarded... CrazeD Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 9 05-14-2007 11:52 AM
Mouse brain simulated on computer maroon1 Polls 0 04-28-2007 06:15 AM
Preblem with my Logitech Mouse. I need help :( Chris93 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 04-26-2007 02:15 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.