Modding Mouse LED - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-12-2007, 11:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mnelson07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 349
Default Modding Mouse LED

So I was looking at my mouse (which I like a lot) and I was wanting to change the LED in it. Everything else with my PC is a black/blue scheme and I want the mouse to match it.

First I plan to change the LED to blue (if possible) and then spray paint the white to a shiny black.

I know I could easily buy a mouse like the Razer Diamondbacks but this is much more cost efficient and gives me a personal sense of accomplishment. Also, I've bought the Diamondback and a few other mice and I just don't care for any of them compared to this mouse. I've had it forever and it works wonderfully for casual use and gaming. I love its feel and button placement. I only mention that so I don't get pointless responses suggesting I purchase another mouse.

Anyways, I attached a picture of the LED itself when I cracked the shell off. I've looked around online for places to buy an LED light. But I have no experience in this field of modding. I don't know if I'll have to solder anything, or what. The only place I found something somewhat relevant or looking close to what I needed was FrozenCPU.com. They had 3mm LEDs which I thought could possibly be it, but their stems or whatever you call them look extremely long.

Oh, and sorry for the somewhat blurry pictures. They were the best I could do.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1.jpg (64.3 KB, 1027 views)
File Type: jpg 2.jpg (60.6 KB, 1100 views)
File Type: jpg 3.jpg (56.9 KB, 1271 views)
__________________

mnelson07 is offline  
Old 06-12-2007, 11:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Modding Mouse LED

I think the LED sensor only sees red.


Time to learn how to use a camera:
What model camera do you have?
You need to find the marco feature, its a little flower on the selector
With practice, images come out looking like this:

__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 06-12-2007, 11:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mnelson07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 349
Default Re: Modding Mouse LED

How do you tell whether it only sees red or not?

I have a Sony PowerShot SD630
I tried messing with the features such as macro, didn't seem to affect the image's adjustment through the screen when I took the picture so I put it back to it's default settings.

*edit*
Just tried again and it worked. I don't know what I did differently or didn't do the first time, but the pictures are much better.
mnelson07 is offline  
Old 06-13-2007, 12:03 AM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Modding Mouse LED

im not into modding, so i dont really know
practice makes perfect: post some new ones
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 06-13-2007, 12:09 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mnelson07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 349
Default Re: Modding Mouse LED

Here are better pics.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 4.JPG (67.0 KB, 1097 views)
File Type: jpg 5.jpg (82.1 KB, 1270 views)
mnelson07 is offline  
Old 06-13-2007, 12:22 AM   #6 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Modding Mouse LED

did you even ever hear of a 'marco' feature before i told you about it?
also, are you competent at soldering?
im fairly skilled and i hate desoldering and soldering small areas, its somewhat hard
the mouse will still function if the led is changed form red to blue, its just that its really hard to change it
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 06-13-2007, 12:25 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mnelson07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 349
Default Re: Modding Mouse LED

...yes. I told you. I was aware of it and I used it originally. For some reason when I took the original pictures the camera didn't focus correctly so I just put it back to it's normal settings.

Then, I tried again later after you commented on my pictures. It happened to work.

Regardless, this isn't the point of the topic.
mnelson07 is offline  
Old 06-13-2007, 12:26 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
kfc469's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 928
Send a message via AIM to kfc469
Default Re: Modding Mouse LED

ok unless I'm mistaken, the thing in the middle there is the photo receptor. I don't know which kind microsoft uses. as far as I know there are photo receptors that will accept any color of light, but as I said before, I don't know if microsoft used those. the only way I can think to test that is to take some blue light and shine it on the receptor and see if the mouse moves. if it does, you can go ahead and swap out the led. if it doesn't, you need to swap out the receptor as well.

when you buy the led, make sure you get the same wattage as the one that is already in there.
__________________

kfc469 is offline  
Old 06-13-2007, 12:30 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
kfc469's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 928
Send a message via AIM to kfc469
Default Re: Modding Mouse LED

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
its just that its really hard to change it
you don't have to de-solder it. just hold the soldering iron on the leads of the led till it heats up some, the solder will melt and u can pull the old led out. then, touch the iron to the holes where you just removed the led to melt the solder that is left over from the old led and put the new led in. its a 2 min project.

just be careful not to burn any of the surrounding components.
__________________

kfc469 is offline  
Old 06-13-2007, 12:32 AM   #10 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Modding Mouse LED

Quote:
Originally Posted by kfc469 View Post
just be careful not to burn any of the surrounding components.
my fingers arnt components -.-
also, i wanna try this out too, will a 4kmcd white led or a ultraviolet one work?
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which keyboard and mouse should I get? pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 30 02-07-2008 03:47 AM
vista restart mouse problem Broom Microsoft Windows and Software 1 05-26-2007 11:31 AM
My mouse is being retarded... CrazeD Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 9 05-14-2007 11:52 AM
Mouse brain simulated on computer maroon1 Polls 0 04-28-2007 06:15 AM
Preblem with my Logitech Mouse. I need help :( Chris93 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 04-26-2007 02:15 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.