modding a fan. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-07-2006, 11:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 221
Default modding a fan.

i bought an am2 socket but im finding that i have limited aftermarket coolers available. i want to use the zalman
but i want it to be blue. soooo, how hard would it be to unsolder the leds and put some new ones on? is it as simple as popping the "prop" off and everything is right there, or are the lights part of the board?
__________________

rcsavageboy is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 11:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 793
Default

i'm supposing that they are on the board, but i wouldn't know, i have no experiance with the Zalman fans (as of yet)
__________________

__________________



\"I may or may not have put a loaf of bread in the dish washer\"
\"Once you go white a trailer is in sight\"
COD2_fanatic is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 11:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
suicide007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: inside.
Posts: 279
Default

id just openit up and have a look. But dont try it unless it looks easier than something you have successfully soldered before, because i hear those zalmans are pricey.
__________________
Intel Conroe e6750
SLI EVGA 8800gts KO's
4GB Patriot DDR2 800mhz
22" Widescreen Sceptre LCD monitor 5ms
OCZ 700W psu
320gb seagate w/ perpindicular tech.
Creative SB X-Fi Fatality
Thermaltake Armor: Extreme Edition
suicide007 is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 12:10 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 221
Default

yea the problem is i dont have it yet and i dont want to buy it and then be stuck with it. i would rather use the stock cooler than have green in my case
rcsavageboy is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 12:50 AM   #5 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

so pratice on something else LED.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 01:52 AM   #6 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default

I dont think it'd be very easy. The led's are very small and they are inside the fan unit itself. If i were you. Id, if anything, just break the led's in it so you dont have any lighting from it.

Trying to rsolder new ones in is just asking for trouble.
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 02:18 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 221
Default

yea that would be the smart thing, but i want more blue . maybe ill just buy some lights.
rcsavageboy is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 04:51 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 190
Send a message via AIM to the yellow one
Default

Quote:
I dont think it'd be very easy. The led's are very small and they are inside the fan unit itself. If i were you. Id, if anything, just break the led's in it so you dont have any lighting from it.
you can only do that if the LEDs you're using have the same spec to the one already in it but most of the stand alone ones out there that you can purchase have the almost the same spec, i mean LEDs are very untolerate to higher voltage and those already in it probably have a resistor to it. so if you don't know how much ohm a resister to use if you need one and how to solder, wouldn't recommend it.
__________________
I am the yellow one.
the yellow one is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 02:02 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by rcsavageboy
yea the problem is i dont have it yet and i dont want to buy it and then be stuck with it. i would rather use the stock cooler than have green in my case
i want that zalman too lol. buy it and if tyou dont like it ill uy it off you =]
massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 07:10 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 647
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835118223

how's that. and it's on sale for $12 off the other price...problem solved.

*EDIT* i got a lil hasty it's not AM2. but maybe you could get the regular one (w/o green) and just place led's nearby?
__________________

__________________
Antec NeoPower 650W
Gigabyte EP45-DS3R
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (w/ Arctic Freezer 7)
4GB DDR2-1000 G.Skill
Sapphire x1950 Pro 512mb (w/ V700)
250GB, 500GB and 1.5TB Seagate Barracudas (2.25TB total)
Fatal1ty XtremeGamer sound card *** generic TV tuner
Xclio 3060 case *** HannsG 22" monitor
XP Pro / Ubuntu 7.10 *** Razer Copperhead and Tarantula
jordo_99 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.