Modding E6300 to 1333MHz - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-09-2007, 07:59 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
advancedgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 643
Send a message via AIM to advancedgeek Send a message via MSN to advancedgeek Send a message via Yahoo to advancedgeek
Default Modding E6300 to 1333MHz

Digg - Modding your E6300 to 1333FSB

Heres how some guy modded his cpu by shorting 2 pins on the surface of the cpu and increasing it to run at 1333MHz FSB by default. So guys... if you are really gonna risk your cpu's then there is no need to wait for July 22 because 1333MHz is already out there!
__________________

__________________
Graphics card: Inno3D Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTS @ 640/940 (core/memory)
MB: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 v3.3 F12
RAM: 2 Kingston HyperX DDR2 800MHz (4GB total)
CPU: Core 2 Duo E6320 @variable rates (will fix my fan problem soon and overclock high again)
HSF: Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme & Antec Tricool 120mm fan
PSU: Delta Serverpower 550W
HD: Seagate 400GB ST340032AS & Excelstor 80GB (both SATA)
Case: don't know what case it is but it is very crappy
Optical Drive: Lite-on 16X DVD+&- RW DL (died) using a CD-ROM drive until I get a new blu ray burner or whatever i can get


http://web26.hopto.org:443/

**been afk from tech-forums for a while so this is the updates specs**
advancedgeek is offline  
Old 07-09-2007, 10:15 AM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Modding E6300 to 1333MHz

Theres no need to mod it, when the e6300, can easily just overclock past that.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 07-09-2007, 12:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Modding E6300 to 1333MHz

i would never consider actually making physical changes to any piece of hardware. untill its as safe as o/cing anyway
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 07-09-2007, 12:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,151
Send a message via AIM to Deathawk Send a message via Yahoo to Deathawk
Default Re: Modding E6300 to 1333MHz

Quote:
Originally Posted by baron5 View Post
i would never consider actually making physical changes to any piece of hardware. untill its as safe as o/cing anyway
Cool for you.
__________________
Deathawk is offline  
Old 07-09-2007, 12:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
kobe24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: Modding E6300 to 1333MHz

i would agree with baron5, its not safe unless u have money to get another one
__________________
3D MARK 06 ***14,063*** on vista, use to get it
p4 2.8ghz
Asus p4SD-LA
6800gs ultra
1.5gb ddr400 oem
120gb hdd

The Techies' Bible
kobe24 is offline  
Old 07-09-2007, 10:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 575
Send a message via ICQ to Cunjo Send a message via Yahoo to Cunjo
Default Re: Modding E6300 to 1333MHz

Shorting CPU pins to make it run faster = bad idea. You can easily overclock above that without making any modifications to your hardware, and overclocking is lass dangerous not to mention reversible.
__________________
\"I\'ll do it cheap, I\'ll do it fast, or I\'ll do it well. You can only choose two.\"
Cunjo is offline  
Old 07-09-2007, 11:17 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Modding E6300 to 1333MHz

agreed with everyone else... overclocking is way safer.... plus its cheaper to buy the 1333mhz FSB, but u do need to have the patience to wait another 13 days
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-09-2007, 11:44 PM   #8 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Modding E6300 to 1333MHz

That is cool but yet at the same time retarded for anyone to actually do. That is the worst form of overclocking I have ever seen lol...if you want dangerous speed you have it right there. It's simple to just set the FSB to 333 in your BIOS and there you have an easy 2.4ghz >.< lol
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 07-10-2007, 12:15 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Modding E6300 to 1333MHz

ya let ur patience be tested and wait til the 22nd and get a true 1333mhz, its only worth it on like... say an e2xxx series... because they are cheap, and most ppl can afford to replace one, or if u are a big risk-taker or a rich person, try it on ur qx6800 or qx6700 lol!!! jk jk I AM NOT RESPONSIBLE IF YOU TOOK MY JOKE SERIOUSLY AND MODDED UR CORE 2 EXTREME CPU
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-11-2007, 09:50 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Disillusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default Re: Modding E6300 to 1333MHz

If the CPU was tested to be stable via BIOS overclock, then making it a permanent mod isn't dangerous at all if the proper pins are jumped. I overclocked my laptop by jumping two pins and fooling the CPU to jump from 400mhz to 533mhz. Not dangerous at all as long as you know what you're doing and do it properly.
__________________

__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
laptop modding Sgt Wild Lion Laptops and Notebooks 13 07-13-2007 01:07 PM
overclocking e6300 madman1391 Overclocking and Modding 10 06-26-2007 10:57 AM
Modding Mouse LED mnelson07 Overclocking and Modding 34 06-19-2007 03:57 AM
AMD X2 5600+ v Intel E6300 zmatt Overclocking and Modding 32 06-09-2007 02:54 PM
Overclocked my E6300 TheMajor Overclocking and Modding 11 04-09-2007 05:02 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.