MOBO is WAY too hot! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-12-2006, 11:59 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 315
Default MOBO is WAY too hot!

my mobo is 61 now under load. what can i do to lower this temp. im in the middle of sleeing my cables to clean things up but what else can i do!
__________________

__________________

AMD Athlon 64 x2 3800+
DFI Lanparty NF4 SLI-DR
eVGA 7800GT
OCZ Gold DDR400 2GB(2x1GB)
OCZ ModStream 520 Watt PSU
Creative Soundblaster X-FI Extreme Music 24-Bit
Western Digital Raptor 36GB and Caviar 160GB
Thermaltake Armor Full Tower
karpfish24 is offline  
Old 02-12-2006, 12:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 506
Default

Well if its just an air circulation problem, more fans. Make sure that the chipset fans are working too, if there are any. This comes from personal experience, but check your cables as well. A while back I purchased round IDE cables and a round floppy cable for my computer to replace the ribbon cables. After I installed them, my mobo temp shot up to 55*. I narrowed it down to the round floppy cable. I took it back, bought a different brand, still the same thing. Took it back, went to another store, bought yet another different brand, still the same problem. I put the ribbon cable back in and temps went down. Point being, a problem with a cable could cause a spike in temp.
__________________

cedjunior is offline  
Old 02-12-2006, 04:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 430
Default

PWNED, JK LOL!
curtcheese64 is offline  
Old 02-12-2006, 04:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

airflow is your best bet. While what cedjunior said is possible, it's a glitch, and unlikely. The more airflow you get, the cooler that thing is going to stay. You have to remember, if you lower your ambient case temp by 2 or 3 degrees, you can drastically lower everything else's temp.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 02-12-2006, 04:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 315
Default

ya i think that im gonna get a more powerful exhaust fan cause right now im using the stock back 120mm maybe a panaflow when newegg gets em back in and i ordered a ton of cable sleeve from xoxide so that will be taken care of.
__________________

AMD Athlon 64 x2 3800+
DFI Lanparty NF4 SLI-DR
eVGA 7800GT
OCZ Gold DDR400 2GB(2x1GB)
OCZ ModStream 520 Watt PSU
Creative Soundblaster X-FI Extreme Music 24-Bit
Western Digital Raptor 36GB and Caviar 160GB
Thermaltake Armor Full Tower
karpfish24 is offline  
Old 02-12-2006, 06:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 506
Default

What kind of intake fans are you running? If you don't have any I'd look into that.
cedjunior is offline  
Old 02-12-2006, 06:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 315
Default

i have one but its stock and i have these 2 thermaltake 120mm one i just replaced for the back exhaust and they are down liek 3 0r 4 already and im gonna put the other ones as intake probably tonight or tomorow cause school is canceled and oll see how it goes. they are this fan:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811999122
__________________

AMD Athlon 64 x2 3800+
DFI Lanparty NF4 SLI-DR
eVGA 7800GT
OCZ Gold DDR400 2GB(2x1GB)
OCZ ModStream 520 Watt PSU
Creative Soundblaster X-FI Extreme Music 24-Bit
Western Digital Raptor 36GB and Caviar 160GB
Thermaltake Armor Full Tower
karpfish24 is offline  
Old 02-12-2006, 10:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 765
Default

Perhaps taking the side panel off and just putting a huge like 50cm room fan would make things a bit cooler?
septoid2 is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 01:30 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 178
Default

or maybee its the fans you have that just arnt configured properly? theres more to just adding bigger and better fans to your case/chips, a common problem is your exhaust fan is working harder than the input fans and it steals the cool air before it gets to your hardware. if this might be your problem, than get a fan controll unit. when all else fails then take the side panel off and sit a fan next to it.
Ulti_DOOM is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 04:57 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 315
Default

wow! i just finished sleeving and tucking away all my cables. my mobo temps are down to, what, 36 celcius? my cpu is down 1 or 2 degress to 35. this is amazing. and now my HD is down 10 to 23!
__________________

__________________

AMD Athlon 64 x2 3800+
DFI Lanparty NF4 SLI-DR
eVGA 7800GT
OCZ Gold DDR400 2GB(2x1GB)
OCZ ModStream 520 Watt PSU
Creative Soundblaster X-FI Extreme Music 24-Bit
Western Digital Raptor 36GB and Caviar 160GB
Thermaltake Armor Full Tower
karpfish24 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.