MOBO install - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-14-2005, 05:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 78
Default MOBO install

I put in my Mobo, of course I used the brass spacers to keep it off the chassis. But what about the large metal bracket thats behind the CPU on the back of the mobo? It touches the chassis, is this right?

Its an ASUS AV8
__________________

__________________
What are all these extra screws for?
-=DFOX=- is offline  
Old 01-14-2005, 05:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

I take it that your installing a AMD?????? Im dont know too much about AMD and a metal bracket on the back.
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 01-14-2005, 05:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 78
Default

right AMD 939 socket. The bracket doesnt touch, but its damn close.
__________________
What are all these extra screws for?
-=DFOX=- is offline  
Old 01-14-2005, 07:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Dont worry about it DFOX it's simply the bracket used for holding the heatsink in place. The new K8 boards require big heatsinks, so they have a metal backplate for more support.
Nubius is offline  
Old 01-14-2005, 07:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 78
Default

Awesome, thanks alot, now back to my wiring thanks!
__________________
What are all these extra screws for?
-=DFOX=- is offline  
Old 01-14-2005, 08:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

What are you computer specs..? Please share.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 01-14-2005, 08:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 78
Default

ASUS Av8
AMD 3200+ 939 Socket
1GB Kingston dual Channel ram
Nvidea 6600gt
In a Rosewill case with 400 WAT PSU

WD 80 GB 7200 Hd (For now)



And now I see my dell LCD monitor wont plug into the ASUS board, I cant find the freakin adapter, argghh!!

Its my first build, tomorow I need to pick up a rear fan, hopefully that adapter somewhere and a second cd rom.
__________________
What are all these extra screws for?
-=DFOX=- is offline  
Old 01-15-2005, 05:47 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

good luck with that
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 01-15-2005, 07:04 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by -=DFOX=-
ASUS Av8
AMD 3200+ 939 Socket
Don't you mean the ASUS A8V, Abit made the AV8
__________________

Mr.Orb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.