Mobo blew - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-10-2005, 01:20 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 205
Send a message via AIM to jrdwstfll
Default Mobo blew

My mobo blew.. so I want to upgrade while i have the chance... i have a maxtor 60 gb hd ... geforce mx440 64 mb vid card...

this is what i want to put into my computer...

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819116171
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813128231
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835112010
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820223009


let me know what u guys think.. and if they are all compatible (im still new!) if there is something better and for a better price let me know!

Jared
__________________

jrdwstfll is offline  
Old 07-10-2005, 03:05 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

Are you planning on overclocking? If not, then get the Northwoods.
__________________

__________________
6600GT PCI-E for sale/Trade. Check the FS/FT forums on tech-forums for details.
http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=77816
Hacp is offline  
Old 07-10-2005, 07:34 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default

what is the comp for?
__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Old 07-10-2005, 10:20 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 205
Send a message via AIM to jrdwstfll
Default

what do u mean hte northwoods???

no im not overclocking... the comp will be used by me for a year... to play games,search internet, talk online.. etc, games i will be playing depend on if i get a new video card, if i do i would like to be able to play half life 2 on pretty decent settings
__________________
<iframe src=\"http://gamercard.xbox.com/jrdwstfll.card\" scrolling=\"no\" frameBorder=\"0\" height=\"140\" width=\"204\">Jrdwstfll</iframe>
jrdwstfll is offline  
Old 07-10-2005, 10:55 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 59
Send a message via Yahoo to -=YODA, I AM=-
Default

HL2 dosen't take much to run any comp with 512 of ram and any video card and an AMD processor (64 or non-64) should run it well
heck my last system-
AMD XP 3000+
512 of ram pc2700
emachine mobo crap
nvidia geforce 5700Le OC

ran it perfectly on high settings some medium
__________________
HAVE A NICE DAY OR DIE TRYING
-=YODA, I AM=- is offline  
Old 07-10-2005, 11:04 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 205
Send a message via AIM to jrdwstfll
Default

yoda.. im gonna stick with p4.. ive always used pentium.. thanks though.. do u think its necessary to get 1 gb of ram?
__________________
<iframe src=\"http://gamercard.xbox.com/jrdwstfll.card\" scrolling=\"no\" frameBorder=\"0\" height=\"140\" width=\"204\">Jrdwstfll</iframe>
jrdwstfll is offline  
Old 07-10-2005, 11:08 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 59
Send a message via Yahoo to -=YODA, I AM=-
Default

not a nesesity, yet if u can fit it in ur budget it would give u a small bost, however pc3200 512mb ram is 130 last i checked so its not worth it unless this is ur dream build
__________________
HAVE A NICE DAY OR DIE TRYING
-=YODA, I AM=- is offline  
Old 07-10-2005, 11:09 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 205
Send a message via AIM to jrdwstfll
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820223009
39 bux.. am i missing somethign?
__________________
<iframe src=\"http://gamercard.xbox.com/jrdwstfll.card\" scrolling=\"no\" frameBorder=\"0\" height=\"140\" width=\"204\">Jrdwstfll</iframe>
jrdwstfll is offline  
Old 07-10-2005, 11:52 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 59
Send a message via Yahoo to -=YODA, I AM=-
Default

OH SNAP! i must have missed something!!! if its that cheap go for it i might get another gig
__________________
HAVE A NICE DAY OR DIE TRYING
-=YODA, I AM=- is offline  
Old 07-10-2005, 12:01 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 205
Send a message via AIM to jrdwstfll
Default

yea lol

everyone else..; please lmk what u think

jared
__________________

__________________
<iframe src=\"http://gamercard.xbox.com/jrdwstfll.card\" scrolling=\"no\" frameBorder=\"0\" height=\"140\" width=\"204\">Jrdwstfll</iframe>
jrdwstfll is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.