Mobo ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

jamesongst

Solid State Member
Guys I am new to the whole building my own pc area. I am looking at a couple different motherboards from Asus and Abit and trying to price everything out. The question I have is what is the benefit of building my own pc compared to buying one from a company like Dell? Was wondering are the components used in Dell products like the motherboards not as good quality or fast as one I would buy when building a pc? Any input would be appreciated.

Yes, building your own computer will always be the better (and cheaper) route to go than buying a Dell, they have incompatability issues with their motherboards which prevents them from being used with any parts other than Dell specific parts.

if u build ur own u will get better parts for cheaper, most dells ive seen come with onboard graphics so had to be upgraded using a pci card which are really really slow. Its not hard to build ur own just put everyting there it fits really :)

its like making a lego thing. lol. I had a good time building my pc, and have learnt alot about them, previously the only thing i had done inside the pc was put in a pci network card, and it was no harder than that.

what cpu and socket will the motherboard be for?

anouther advantage if a part does break/die it would be easy replacing it, with a dell you would have to call them up and be charged rip off prices.

you can't overclock dells too.

dell's graphics cards are really dated 5200/5500/5600, unles un get the xps, which you could build for about £500/600 less.

yup, building your own pc will allow you to start knowing what each piece does and how everything is hooked up.
i've built about 5 now and i love it every time.
dell's.....meh, as said before, you can make better computers for the price they sell them at. plus, it's a pain in the butt trying to do administrator things on them...at least on my buddies it was hard cause they locked you out of stuff...