Mobile processor on a desktop board? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-20-2006, 03:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 7
Default Mobile processor on a desktop board?

I have an Athlon XP M2800 mobile processor which I want to put into an Epox EP-81KRAIPRO (KT880) Mboard - which I also have.

Will this processor run "as is" or do I need to adjust the board's bios to get the most (or anything at all) out of it. I haven't looked into it yet but I understand that the board is favorable for this mobile chip and configurable many ways to overclock to meet best performance. I understand this has been done before - this processor and this board but the necessary bios adjustments are not available to me.

I've set up a few mboards so I will likely understand how to do this, but havent intentionally o'clocked anything to date... Do I just crank up bus and voltage until it is unstable then back off? What is the safest parameter to play with? (I"M using Win XP)


Many thanks.
__________________

lloydbro is offline  
Old 01-20-2006, 03:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

Well, if you have a mobile socket A processor, before you turn the machine on, make sure your heatsink is actually in contact with your processor. The mobile chips are flatter if I'm not mistaken.

There's a little more to overclocking than just jacking up the FSB. I'd suggest reading this first:
http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=22031

Good luck

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-20-2006, 06:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 7
Default Thank You - Excellent simple article!

And I appreciate it very much.
lloydbro is offline  
Old 01-20-2006, 06:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
The mobile chips are flatter if I'm not mistaken.
Don't believe they are. I've had the 2400+ XP and the 2400+ XP-M and I never noticed any difference between flatness.

the Abit NF7-S v2 or one of the DFI infinity series boards I think are the best OC'ing boards for those mobile chips though. Never had any experience with an Epox board so I can't really comment on it
Nubius is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 01:11 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

one of the guys on here had a mobile, and the core of the thing didn't reach the heatsink... that's the reason I came up with that...

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 01:25 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Disillusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default

The OCing on the Epox board is decent. I have one with my Athlon, but it's a cheaper board so don't expect much.

Wouldn't you want to automatically decrease the voltage first? Don't those CPUs use a lot less voltage?
__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 10:10 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 7
Default

Thanks again for the answers - some good info for me. But: Lower the voltage? I don't know and that is exactly what I am asking. Lower, higher, more or less? Voltage? Buss? Can anyone tell me what to adjust and how much would be reasonable?

The Epox board...not my first choice, but it is what I have.

Thanks Ryan, I will definitely check out the thickness.

Many thanks again,
lloydbro is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 11:14 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

Just put the processor in like normal. Don't worry about the voltage. It should run just fine, because even if mobiles do use less voltage, you'll be taking to that voltage later as you're overclocking.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 08:53 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 7
Default

OK, again, thanks for all the suggestions.
__________________

lloydbro is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.