Mobile cpus - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-14-2005, 11:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 994
Send a message via AIM to PoisonPorkchop
Default Mobile cpus

can you use mobile cpus in a normal desktop cpu? if so, do you need a different mobo
i saw in a post a mobile cpu that the guy said it rivaled a 3.8 ghz and was interested. what do i have to do to make it work?
__________________

__________________
System
Antec Super Lanboy
AMD 64 3800 S-939 Newcastle
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
eVGA 6600GT
1.5 GB pc 3200
WD 160 GB IDE
Viewsonic 22\" Widescreen 1680x1050
Logitech MX518
Coming Soon: Athlon 64 4000 San Diego/Z-5500/G7/Vista
PoisonPorkchop is offline  
Old 03-14-2005, 11:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default

first wtf with your system???????????? but then again back to the topic, people here get the amd XP-M 2400 cpu's and oc them on a ABIT NF7-2 mobo. this mobo can also be used for normal amd xp cpu's. with intel it might be differant so can't say. btw from what i know the amd64 mobiles use the 754 socket and any mobo can run them. mobiles are great cos they have lower thermal output and can run at higher temps.
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Old 03-15-2005, 02:07 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
i saw in a post a mobile cpu that the guy said it rivaled a 3.8 ghz and was interested.
lol might have been me.

Beats out a 3.8 Arithmatic bench in dhrystone and barely is outperformed in the whetstone..still not bad considering mine was 1.1GHz lower clock speed.

That's a 35w 2400+ XP-M
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-15-2005, 04:10 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

lol, i dont think PoisonPorkchop's sig is all that truthfull.

Yes its true that mobile chips can be overclocked very well, resulting in very good performance. Just like in Nubius's case.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 03-15-2005, 07:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 994
Send a message via AIM to PoisonPorkchop
Default

NO IT REALLY IS I MADE IT MYSELF IN FACT I JUST PUT IN 8 74 GB RAPTORS!!!!!
__________________
System
Antec Super Lanboy
AMD 64 3800 S-939 Newcastle
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
eVGA 6600GT
1.5 GB pc 3200
WD 160 GB IDE
Viewsonic 22\" Widescreen 1680x1050
Logitech MX518
Coming Soon: Athlon 64 4000 San Diego/Z-5500/G7/Vista
PoisonPorkchop is offline  
Old 03-15-2005, 07:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 284
Default

really, did you try the NVIDIA 9600GT yet, i heard you can get like 80k on 3dmark03. WEll i just got my Intel p4 3.8ghz, 128bit, 10mb cache, its pretty fast but notin compared to the fx-80 , its crazy
comrad is offline  
Old 03-15-2005, 07:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by PoisonPorkchop
NO IT REALLY IS I MADE IT MYSELF IN FACT I JUST PUT IN 8 74 GB RAPTORS!!!!!
Did someone miss thier scheduled dose of medication
Shumway is offline  
Old 03-15-2005, 08:40 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Just quit posting about it people. It's already going in the flame war direction
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-15-2005, 08:53 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Rite..besides that sig shows alot......
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 03-15-2005, 09:23 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 348
Send a message via AIM to 20mm
Default

is there a big diff between the amd 64 mobiles and the amd 64 desktops?
__________________

20mm is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.