minor repair? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-18-2006, 03:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 711
Default minor repair?

well i foudn my old mobo and its a sky 754 evga agp 8x mobo and i was wondering if this is a fixable problem?

what happen was when i turn it on it smelled like suasage and then it wouldnt work
__________________

__________________

IYAOYAS...lol
æArchOAngelæ is offline  
Old 03-18-2006, 04:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Sorry, what am I looking at on that picture?

And to answer you probably but not guarenteed., you could replace what is making that smell, probally one of those transitors is making it, but you will be better off RMAing the board if it is new.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 03-18-2006, 04:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 711
Default

nah its been over 30 days but its a burned spot to the left of the mouse/keyboard input its brown
__________________

IYAOYAS...lol
æArchOAngelæ is offline  
Old 03-18-2006, 04:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

You should have atleast 1 year with the manufacturer.

You will not be able to repair that. It has broken a few of the metal strips, which will not be repairable.

Atleast try with the retailer I RMA'd a graphics card nearly a year after buying it from them and they sent me a full refund.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 03-18-2006, 04:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 711
Default

how would i proof of pruchase it? i dont have a recipt of anything anymore i bought it with a debit card tho
__________________

IYAOYAS...lol
æArchOAngelæ is offline  
Old 03-18-2006, 05:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

The motherboard will have a manufacture code on it probally, they can trace when it was made, so should be able to link when it was sold. They did this for my hdd.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.