Memory Timings Too High - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-07-2007, 12:46 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Memory Timings Too High

Since you have DDR2 800, on a memory multiplier of two, you would need to overclock your Q6600 to 3.6 Ghz for your RAM to run at its rated speed. Anything less than 3.6 Ghz will mean your RAM is underclocked. Which is fine. There is no harm done.
We only reccomend this because we know the Q6600 G0 stepping can and has hit 3.6 Ghz many times.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 12-07-2007, 04:37 PM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 86
Default Re: Memory Timings Too High

so my Q6600 can get to 3.6 ghz without having any problems or is it something I would need to keep an eye on at all times and whats the voltage it would need to be at for that?
__________________

__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L
ATI Radeon HD 3850
Crucial Ballistix 2GB DDR2 800 (2 x 1gb)
Corsair 620hx PSU
Windows XP SP3 Home
Captain Murphy is offline  
Old 12-07-2007, 05:17 PM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Memory Timings Too High

What cooler do you have. And is it a g0 stepping q6600. If you have a good cooler like a TRUE120 or TT-120 and its a g0, you should be able to hit 3.6. I've had mine as high as 4.0ghz so far.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 12-07-2007, 06:38 PM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 86
Default Re: Memory Timings Too High

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
What cooler do you have. And is it a g0 stepping q6600. If you have a good cooler like a TRUE120 or TT-120 and its a g0, you should be able to hit 3.6. I've had mine as high as 4.0ghz so far.
Ive got a zalman CNPS9500. Newegg.com - Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz 2 x 4MB L2 Cache LGA 775 Processor - Retail thats the cpu i bought I'm not sure what a g0 steeping one is.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L
ATI Radeon HD 3850
Crucial Ballistix 2GB DDR2 800 (2 x 1gb)
Corsair 620hx PSU
Windows XP SP3 Home
Captain Murphy is offline  
Old 12-07-2007, 06:44 PM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Memory Timings Too High

Download cpu-z if you dont already have it. It will tell you if the cpu is B3 or G0. If its B3, with the zalmon you should still be able to get 3ghz out of it.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 12-07-2007, 09:42 PM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 86
Default Re: Memory Timings Too High

It says stepping B, revision G0
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L
ATI Radeon HD 3850
Crucial Ballistix 2GB DDR2 800 (2 x 1gb)
Corsair 620hx PSU
Windows XP SP3 Home
Captain Murphy is offline  
Old 12-07-2007, 11:16 PM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Memory Timings Too High

Good good, that means you have the newest stepping. So far i have had mine up to 4ghz, but i have the best possible air cooler on the market. So you should easily be able to get 3.4 or so on that zalman.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 12-09-2007, 05:21 PM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 86
Default Re: Memory Timings Too High

What about changing my multiplier to 6 and my fsb to 400 so its stilling running at 2.40ghz but the memory will be 1:1 would that work or is there a down side to that?
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L
ATI Radeon HD 3850
Crucial Ballistix 2GB DDR2 800 (2 x 1gb)
Corsair 620hx PSU
Windows XP SP3 Home
Captain Murphy is offline  
Old 12-09-2007, 05:30 PM   #19 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Memory Timings Too High

Why would you want to do that?
Are you the one who is having major problems overclocking?

What clocks have you tried? Any specific problems you are having?

Just try for a 3.2 Ghz clock right off the bat on Stock voltages.
With memory timmings of 5-5-5-15 and a System memory multiplier of two.
That is, have your RAM speed half of the effective front side bus.
Ste is offline  
Old 12-09-2007, 05:51 PM   #20 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 86
Default Re: Memory Timings Too High

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ste View Post
Why would you want to do that?
Are you the one who is having major problems overclocking?

What clocks have you tried? Any specific problems you are having?

Just try for a 3.2 Ghz clock right off the bat on Stock voltages.
With memory timmings of 5-5-5-15 and a System memory multiplier of two.
That is, have your RAM speed half of the effective front side bus.
Yea that seems to run fine on those settings. Am I not able to run 4-4-4-12 under those conditions?
__________________

__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L
ATI Radeon HD 3850
Crucial Ballistix 2GB DDR2 800 (2 x 1gb)
Corsair 620hx PSU
Windows XP SP3 Home
Captain Murphy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
G.Skill memory problems kar916 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 10-31-2008 07:15 AM
Memory timings... the_vdende Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 10-01-2007 11:47 AM
fixing memory timings after cpu overclock regeisle Overclocking and Modding 22 08-17-2007 07:22 PM
Memory MOdules Problem - Timings Please Help babistor Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 05-03-2007 05:57 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.