Memory timings causing PC to not boot at times - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-06-2008, 10:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,507
Default Memory timings causing PC to not boot at times

Ok, well right now I have my RAM timings set to auto, and they're autoing to: 5-6-6-17, in a 1:1 ratio w/ my CPU (441 MHz FSB/RAM frequency), and +.2 overvoltage (or is it +0.2...not sure, I'll have to look). So, I changed the timings to 5-5-5-15, and then when I reboot or shutdown, it takes me around 5 tries or so to try to boot up. On bootup it just gets to the part where it says "Memory runs in dual channel" and then doesn't go on to recognize my DVD drives or HDD's. Sometimes it'll get past the DVD recognition, but won't recognize my HDD's so I have to either ctrl-alt-del it there and restart, or try to cold reboot and see if that helps. This is the only time that is messes with my system, because after it gets past that it runs just fine while in Windows and everything else. Any ideas on what it could be and maybe some possible solutions? RAM types are in my sig.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 01-06-2008, 11:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
MetalOwns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Franklin, WI
Posts: 432
Send a message via AIM to MetalOwns
Default Re: Memory timings causing PC to not boot at times

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
and +.2 overvoltage (or is it +0.2...not sure, I'll have to look)
You realize that is the exact same thing, right?

Maybe try resetting the CMOS? Then reapplying all the settings. You should be able to run 5-5-5-15 with no problem.
__________________

__________________
SYSTEM:
RAIDMAX SMILODON Case
LANPARTY DK P35-T2RS
Intel Core2Duo E6600 (2.40) @ OC'ing
2 gigs G.Skill DDR2 800 RAM @ OC'ing
2x 320 Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 (RAID 0)
EVGA Ge-Force 7900 GS KO @ 710/985 @ 1.48v/2.20v
LITE-ON 20x DVD+/-R Burner/12x DVD-RAM w/ LightScribe
LITE-ON 48x CD Burner/16x DVD-ROM
Hanns∑G 19" Widescreen LCD
Windows Vista Ultimate Edition
MetalOwns is offline  
Old 01-06-2008, 11:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 576
Default Re: Memory timings causing PC to not boot at times

You could probably juice your RAM a little more. I know that my mobo defaults the RAM voltage to 1.8v, and alot of RAM out there calls for 2.2v. So on my mobo, I set my RAM voltage to "+.4v" so it'll take it from 1.8 to 2.2v. Doing this could give your RAM the necessary power it may need to keep stable at 5-5-5-15.

BUT make sure you find out what your mobo is using for the default RAM voltage, and also make sure that you know what voltage your RAM calls for. My example applies to alot of people, but maybe not you.
__________________
Stacker 830 - e6600 @ 3.6ghz - Eva 9800GTX+
X-Fi Xtrememusic - 4GB OCZ SLI 1066
Sceptre 20.1" - Logitech Z5500 - Gigabyte DS3 965p
RalliArt882 is offline  
Old 01-06-2008, 11:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,507
Default Re: Memory timings causing PC to not boot at times

Quote:
Originally Posted by MetalOwns View Post
You realize that is the exact same thing, right?

Maybe try resetting the CMOS? Then reapplying all the settings. You should be able to run 5-5-5-15 with no problem.
Oops, forgot an extra 0 in the other one (was meant to be 0.02) lol.

Quote:
BUT make sure you find out what your mobo is using for the default RAM voltage, and also make sure that you know what voltage your RAM calls for. My example applies to alot of people, but maybe not you.
I still yet to see where my BIOS reports my RAM voltage...all I see related to RAM voltage is the overvoltage...unless I'm missing it somewhere?
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 01-07-2008, 12:02 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 576
Default Re: Memory timings causing PC to not boot at times

You'll have to look up your mobo on the net somewhere in order to figure out the default RAM voltage. So if you find out that the default is 1.8v, then "+.1v" that you see in the BIOS would actually be 1.9v ect. I don't know why mobos read like that, it's stupid to me. You'll have to look up your RAM on the net too to figure out the voltage it calls for.
__________________
Stacker 830 - e6600 @ 3.6ghz - Eva 9800GTX+
X-Fi Xtrememusic - 4GB OCZ SLI 1066
Sceptre 20.1" - Logitech Z5500 - Gigabyte DS3 965p
RalliArt882 is offline  
Old 01-07-2008, 12:07 AM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,507
Default Re: Memory timings causing PC to not boot at times

I know the RAM's voltage already, I'll just have to find out what the default voltage is for my mobo... thanks for the help guys, I'll see what happens.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 01-07-2008, 01:11 AM   #7 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,507
Default Re: Memory timings causing PC to not boot at times

Ok, found out it defaults to 1.8v (at least that's what I think it is...one place said 1.8v another said 1.9...so I'm not too sure =\, and it shows 1.8v in CPU-Z). I looked at what my RAM's recommended voltage is, and the G.Skill is 2v, and the OCZ is 2.1v. And I already have my overvoltage for my RAM set to +0.2, which'll make it at the G.Skill's max recommneded (2v). So I was wondering...is it ok to go over the recommended voltage? Or am I just gonna have to live with my 5-6-6-17 timings (if so, that'll be ok I suppose).

This is the G.Skill RAM I have: Newegg.com - G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail
and this is the OCZ RAM I have: Newegg.com - OCZ Gold 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 01-07-2008, 10:54 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
MetalOwns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Franklin, WI
Posts: 432
Send a message via AIM to MetalOwns
Default Re: Memory timings causing PC to not boot at times

I run my RAM at +.2 over the recommended. It's under warrenty, and in about a year or so before I go to college, I'm going to reset everything because my parents and sister don't need it overclocked. I'm not worried about running it at 2.2v.

I have the exact same RAM as you by the way.
__________________
SYSTEM:
RAIDMAX SMILODON Case
LANPARTY DK P35-T2RS
Intel Core2Duo E6600 (2.40) @ OC'ing
2 gigs G.Skill DDR2 800 RAM @ OC'ing
2x 320 Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 (RAID 0)
EVGA Ge-Force 7900 GS KO @ 710/985 @ 1.48v/2.20v
LITE-ON 20x DVD+/-R Burner/12x DVD-RAM w/ LightScribe
LITE-ON 48x CD Burner/16x DVD-ROM
Hanns∑G 19" Widescreen LCD
Windows Vista Ultimate Edition
MetalOwns is offline  
Old 01-07-2008, 12:50 PM   #9 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,507
Default Re: Memory timings causing PC to not boot at times

Ah, ok. Thanks for the info. I'll try upping the overvoltage by a notch and see if that helps.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 01-08-2008, 07:34 PM   #10 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,507
Default Re: Memory timings causing PC to not boot at times

Well just to let you all know..it worked by upping the OV up a notch. Thanks for the help guys, I appreciate it.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
G.Skill memory problems kar916 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 10-31-2008 07:15 AM
What more can I do to increase boot up times? qk232 Overclocking and Modding 7 12-27-2007 06:43 PM
Computer won't boot up with new memory installed...help! chrisoreeves Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 08-13-2007 05:29 PM
Memory MOdules Problem - Timings Please Help babistor Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 05-03-2007 05:57 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.