memory question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-17-2005, 05:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 45
Default memory question

I'm building a gaming computer and have an abit aa8xe mobo and was wondering what memory I could get (atleast 1gb) for around 150$ or cheaper. I'm not a huge overclock and this is my first build, but i was looking at this:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227046
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145539

Or would i be better off getting 2 gbs of this stuff
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145526

I'm not set on these so any better suggestions or advice would be appreciated.
__________________

Circus is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 05:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 414
Default

I would take the OCZ stuff, firstly it was tighter timings and plus its much better quality ram compared to the corsair value ram.
__________________

__________________
<center>

<a href=\'http://fusion.vault9.net/inbound.php?user=Neosteve\' title=\'Get Fused!\'>
<img src=\'http://fusion.vault9.net/code/468x60.jpg\' alt=\'\' style=\"border:0;\" /></a>
</center>
neosteve is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 05:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,241
Send a message via AIM to Powerslave
Default

OCZ and the corsair xms are both great ram, i've used them both before and they are excellent.
Powerslave is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 05:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 45
Default

is it the lower the timings the better? Because the OCZ is 4-4-4-8 and the XMS is 4-4-4-12.
Circus is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 05:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 414
Default

Yip lower is better, in that case the ocz only seems to have a little advantage over the XMS so i would still go for them.
__________________
<center>

<a href=\'http://fusion.vault9.net/inbound.php?user=Neosteve\' title=\'Get Fused!\'>
<img src=\'http://fusion.vault9.net/code/468x60.jpg\' alt=\'\' style=\"border:0;\" /></a>
</center>
neosteve is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 05:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 45
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227044

This has lower timings (3-3-3 instead of 4-4-4), should i get that even though it is slower? My abit aa8xe supports 533 will it even run the 667?
Circus is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 09:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 45
Default

bump
Circus is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 01:19 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 45
Default

do i want lower timings or faster speed?
Circus is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 02:56 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

More fsb is generally better, but 1t is way better than 2t.
Hacp is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 05:12 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 414
Default

I would have to say lower timmings is better than faster Mhz that the ram is running at.

I would still say go for the OCZ Gold Series 1GB DDR2 667 (PC2 5400), it has an balance between them.
__________________

__________________
<center>

<a href=\'http://fusion.vault9.net/inbound.php?user=Neosteve\' title=\'Get Fused!\'>
<img src=\'http://fusion.vault9.net/code/468x60.jpg\' alt=\'\' style=\"border:0;\" /></a>
</center>
neosteve is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.