Memory overclock & problems. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-30-2008, 02:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Spaceballs Mega-Maid
Posts: 783
Send a message via AIM to RichM499 Send a message via Yahoo to RichM499
Default Memory overclock & problems.

I recently got some OCZ 1066 5-5-5-15 ram for my system, because my DDR2 800 was only getting to 460mhz @ 6-5-5-16 .

Well, the 1066 i got up to 440mhz 4-4-4-12, which isnt bad, it improved my performance quite a bit (and i beat the AMD super-pi time, but i'll post that later, i want to get my memory up to speed and see if i can destroy it, instead of just barely beating it)


at 460mhz i get memory issues (the screen turns garbled, and the system restarts)

I never had this problem with the Corsair ddr800 ram, but it WAS unstable @ 460.


Im not sure if this is a limitation of my Athlon x2 memory controller (which was designed for only ddr2 800 speeds), or if it is just incompatibility between the memory and my motherboard.


My motherboard is Foxconn a7vmx-k, and the customer support told me to buy new ram=(.


So my question is:

Do you have any suggestions? what i can increase or decrease with subtimings?

I dont understand subtimings, so any information is usefull.

If i lower timings to 3-4-3-10 DDR 440 (which is stable), will it make up for the performance difference between 440 and 475mhz?

475mhz is my goal, and i've been able to boot and run windows for hours @ 470mhz, but as soon as i run a game, or intensive program- the computer messes up.


Thanks for any info.
__________________

RichM499 is offline  
Old 11-30-2008, 02:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Memory overclock & problems.

hey its you
__________________

__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 11-30-2008, 02:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Spaceballs Mega-Maid
Posts: 783
Send a message via AIM to RichM499 Send a message via Yahoo to RichM499
Default Re: Memory overclock & problems.

lol i are back=)

Tell me something about memory timings that i dont already know =P
Or i'll harrass you on AIM
RichM499 is offline  
Old 11-30-2008, 02:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: Memory overclock & problems.

Newegg.ca - G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory

Ordered those on Friday. They should be here eight days from now.

Then maybe I can attain 25seconds?
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 11-30-2008, 02:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Spaceballs Mega-Maid
Posts: 783
Send a message via AIM to RichM499 Send a message via Yahoo to RichM499
Default Re: Memory overclock & problems.

I doubt you can hit 25, but i think you can get 26=)

I know because my time was 27.283,

Im trying for 26 before i post a SS


Cmon guys! i need memory timing information! lol we're already off topic in the first 2 posts..



--- oh by the way hussein, the 4830 rocks, hurry up and get it.

I have everything turned on max @ 1600x1200, and i get 40+ fps in crysis
RichM499 is offline  
Old 11-30-2008, 02:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: Memory overclock & problems.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RichM499 View Post
I doubt you can hit 25, but i think you can get 26=)
Yeah I was just day dreaming when I said that. But 26 seconds would still be great for an X2.
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 11-30-2008, 02:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Memory overclock & problems.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RichM499 View Post
Or i'll harrass you on AIM
too late for that.
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 11-30-2008, 05:09 PM   #8 (permalink)
Electical Engineer
 
BongWizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: OZ
Posts: 916
Send a message via AIM to BongWizard Send a message via Yahoo to BongWizard
Default Re: Memory overclock & problems.

if you can get those up to 440 with 3-4-3-10 timings thats awesome... what are the advanced timings looking like on those... try to get your tRD down to 6 or 7, because every clock you can get it down at that speed will give you about 195MB/s extra bandwidth

as far as i know, spi is more keen on really high memory clocks.. but sweet timings like that should make up for the bandwidth difference (but im not 100% sure... you should run Everest's Bandwidth Test). also, you might be able to achieve higher speeds by loosening out your tRD, as this is among the most important factors in memory performance

can you post a screenie of memset so we can see what advanced timings you've got atm
__________________

NZXT Lexa BlackLine w/ Red LEDs | Corsair TX-750 | Gigabyte EP45-DS3P | Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 3.6GHz
2x 2GB Kingston HyperX PC2-6400 @ 960MHz (5-4-4-13) | 3x Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB HDD in RAID5
2x HIS Radeon HD 4850 @ 761/1129 in CrossFireX w/ Thermaltake DuOrbs | Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro



Got a problem?? Click Here before posting!

BongWizard is offline  
Old 11-30-2008, 06:03 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Spaceballs Mega-Maid
Posts: 783
Send a message via AIM to RichM499 Send a message via Yahoo to RichM499
Default Re: Memory overclock & problems.

K

I have it @ 470 4-4-4-12 right now, and its not 100% stable .....

Assassins Creed is running fine... and im just leaving it here untill i find out more about the advanced timings and such
RichM499 is offline  
Old 11-30-2008, 06:15 PM   #10 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Memory overclock & problems.

it makes me happy to see the spirit of super pi is large in these forums now... i havent seen it this big since the socket 939 days

back when my competition was an athlon 3500+ at 3.0ghz
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP! Battlefield 2 Crashes when entering Singleplayer,Multiplayer, and Audio Options Grayman PC Gaming 7 03-17-2009 02:26 AM
added more memory but with problems jesseunvoas System Upgrades 5 02-06-2008 10:35 PM
Problems booting: Mobo error Base memory detect? Hookster264 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 09-10-2007 12:08 PM
Need some help choosing memory before I buy today guitarplyrstevo New Systems | Building and Buying 6 04-02-2007 02:52 AM
Is Vista seeing memory on my 8800GTS 320MB wrong? phexac Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-26-2007 12:03 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.