memory issues - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-03-2006, 02:03 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 65
Send a message via AIM to pullyalater
Default memory issues

so i have done alot of research on DDR400 in the past few days and have concluded that my 2GB of dual channel patriot memory (cas 2), does not compare to others in benchmarks and memtests so i want to upgrade. any opinions? Crucial? Geil? Mushkin? OCZ? <~~(leaning towards)



My System :
amd 4400x2 @2.6Ghz
2gb pat mem(cas 2) @2.6v (i think spec is 2.7, but was sorta unstable)
ASUS A8R32-MVP Deluxe, based on ATI CrossFire Xpress 3200 Chipset
ASUS 1900xtx
250 gb hd sata 3.0gbps
Xfi
Sata Plextor dvd writer

PS im getting a 754 cheap system from newegg. will the dual channel pat. mem work(i know not in dual channel but will it show as 2gb?)???
__________________

__________________
http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b2...beatz/sig2.gif

Asus x1900xtx / Zalman 900cu
ABIT Crossfire 3200 mobo
AMD 939 fx-62 @2.8Ghz / Zalman CNPS9500
TeamGroup DDR500 3-3-2-8 (awesome RAM)
150 GB WD Raptor HD
Mushkin 650W PSU
Plextor SATA DVD burner
Thermaltake Soprano case... will change soon. =)
pullyalater is offline  
Old 08-03-2006, 02:22 AM   #2 (permalink)
The ModFather
 
markkleb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Reno Nevada
Posts: 273
Default

The absolute best is the Geil One, but thats 1 gig (512 X 2)
I like the Mushkin but do you REALLY need faster memory?

I use the Geil ONE, its hand picked Samsung chips that are TCCD. I have had mine at 2.5-4-4-7@620 1T (and I suck at OCing)

The guys that I hang with use 1 gig for benchs and 2 gigs for day to day use.

yes ur Pat mem will work with 754, and show as 2 gigs.
__________________

__________________
MKMods
markkleb is offline  
Old 08-03-2006, 02:30 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 65
Send a message via AIM to pullyalater
Default

ps i have a mushkin 650W PS

thx markkleb
no i dont need the faster mem, but since im building the other system i can get better mem for this my main rig and the rig that i am going to be modding heavy can have the pat mem.

ps i just got my radioshack stuff aka power supplies haha

hit me up with a pm when u get done wiring/soldering
__________________
http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b2...beatz/sig2.gif

Asus x1900xtx / Zalman 900cu
ABIT Crossfire 3200 mobo
AMD 939 fx-62 @2.8Ghz / Zalman CNPS9500
TeamGroup DDR500 3-3-2-8 (awesome RAM)
150 GB WD Raptor HD
Mushkin 650W PSU
Plextor SATA DVD burner
Thermaltake Soprano case... will change soon. =)
pullyalater is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.