Memory Help! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-09-2005, 11:30 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 104
Default Memory Help!

I just made my new computer with all good hardware. my problem is that one of my memory sticks might be bad..it surprises me because i got Corsair XMS Extreme Memory Speed Series that stuff is usually good..i got a DFI "LANPARTY UT nF4 Ultra-D so really didnt think ne problems should occur.i dont know if it is because i dont have it in dual channel or not.i said to put it into the 2 & 4 slots..when i did i was installing xp professional first it was verfying dmi data pool...changed the boot order...then it worked then before install the windows it had the blue screen of death...and was IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL idk something like that took out the memory and it when through..i thionk i have all the drivers updated..so im pretty much stuck..i put the memory in again and would restart right after booting windows. sorry for being so long

another problem is at the bottom right taskbar thing..it says safely remove hardware and the hardware is my hard drive im pretty sure and i think i dont wanna do that
__________________

brylax23 is offline  
Old 04-09-2005, 11:36 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 104
Default

and now when trying to install my soundcard drivers that came with it the SC it just reboots and reboots..sounds like bad memory but idk how it could be
__________________

__________________
Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Power Supply
AMD Athlon 64 3200+
DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 Ultra-D
Hitachi 160GB 7200RPM SATA Hard Drive
Corsair XMS Extreme Memory Speed Series
\"Model# TWINX1024-3200C2PT\"
EVGA nVIDIA GeForce 6600GT 128MB
brylax23 is offline  
Old 04-09-2005, 11:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 587
Send a message via AIM to Sport1031
Default

I heard that Corsair RAM doesn't mix well with DFI mobos. Both companies are excellent for computer parts, but for some reason Corsair and DFI aren't compatable.
Sport1031 is offline  
Old 04-09-2005, 12:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 104
Default

ne one else have any ideas abou this problem
__________________
Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Power Supply
AMD Athlon 64 3200+
DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 Ultra-D
Hitachi 160GB 7200RPM SATA Hard Drive
Corsair XMS Extreme Memory Speed Series
\"Model# TWINX1024-3200C2PT\"
EVGA nVIDIA GeForce 6600GT 128MB
brylax23 is offline  
Old 04-09-2005, 12:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 587
Send a message via AIM to Sport1031
Default

Try RMAing the RAM and then getting OCZ or Kingstor RAM and see if it will work. If it doesn't, then we'll think of something else.
Sport1031 is offline  
Old 04-09-2005, 12:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 104
Default

its all brand new stuff,cant just go and buy new stuff, how do u RMA the ram..
__________________
Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Power Supply
AMD Athlon 64 3200+
DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 Ultra-D
Hitachi 160GB 7200RPM SATA Hard Drive
Corsair XMS Extreme Memory Speed Series
\"Model# TWINX1024-3200C2PT\"
EVGA nVIDIA GeForce 6600GT 128MB
brylax23 is offline  
Old 04-09-2005, 12:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 104
Default

hows does memtest86 work..i tried to do that but i have no clue
__________________
Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Power Supply
AMD Athlon 64 3200+
DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 Ultra-D
Hitachi 160GB 7200RPM SATA Hard Drive
Corsair XMS Extreme Memory Speed Series
\"Model# TWINX1024-3200C2PT\"
EVGA nVIDIA GeForce 6600GT 128MB
brylax23 is offline  
Old 04-09-2005, 12:16 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 104
Default

ic returning it..thought this was good ram and shouldnt have ne problems with it
__________________
Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Power Supply
AMD Athlon 64 3200+
DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 Ultra-D
Hitachi 160GB 7200RPM SATA Hard Drive
Corsair XMS Extreme Memory Speed Series
\"Model# TWINX1024-3200C2PT\"
EVGA nVIDIA GeForce 6600GT 128MB
brylax23 is offline  
Old 04-09-2005, 12:41 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 104
Default

doesnt look good @ all..i have been running the memtest for like 10 mins and 2 errors all redy...

Error found with pair # 4565910 or 45659449

Error found with pair # 28424761or 28424391

i hate this *hit
__________________
Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Power Supply
AMD Athlon 64 3200+
DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 Ultra-D
Hitachi 160GB 7200RPM SATA Hard Drive
Corsair XMS Extreme Memory Speed Series
\"Model# TWINX1024-3200C2PT\"
EVGA nVIDIA GeForce 6600GT 128MB
brylax23 is offline  
Old 04-09-2005, 01:48 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

I think you have your RAM in the wrong slots. Put them in the first 2 slots. I got XMS Xtra Low Latency RAM, crap is SIMM. My mobo takes DIMM. Find out for sure what RAM type your mobo is, same with your RAM. See if its DIMM or SIMM.
__________________

__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.