measuring fps in a game - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-07-2008, 10:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: pittsburgh pa
Posts: 25
Default measuring fps in a game

is there a program so i can measure fps in a game? or what do i need to do to get it?
thanks steve
__________________

stevei48 is offline  
Old 03-07-2008, 11:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: measuring fps in a game

google fraps, its completely free

however most games have an ingame fps counter on their own

if your game has a console (check advanced settings) then you can enable an fps counter through that if you know the correct commands

otherwise fraps is easy for noobs, it also doubles as a video recorder or screenshot taker if you want
__________________

__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Old 03-07-2008, 11:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: measuring fps in a game

why would fraps be for noobs? anyway i use fraps because its easier then looking for the command to enter.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 03-07-2008, 11:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: measuring fps in a game

Quote:
Originally Posted by luke992006 View Post
why would fraps be for noobs? anyway i use fraps because its easier then looking for the command to enter.
i didn't say its for noobs, I said its easier for noobs then having to find the command for in-built fps drawing utilities

the game itself can detect the fps much more accurately then fraps can...
__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Old 03-07-2008, 11:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: measuring fps in a game

Xfire also supports FPS reading in game, as well as ATITool
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 03-08-2008, 12:17 AM   #6 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: measuring fps in a game

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
Xfire also supports FPS reading in game, as well as ATITool
it does!? omfg, let me go check that out lol

edit:

no it doesnt? it records video, but no fps counter?
__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Old 03-08-2008, 09:57 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: pittsburgh pa
Posts: 25
Default Re: measuring fps in a game

Thanks guys i'll have to check out fraps
stevei48 is offline  
Old 03-08-2008, 12:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: measuring fps in a game

Quote:
Originally Posted by commandercup View Post
it does!? omfg, let me go check that out lol

edit:

no it doesnt? it records video, but no fps counter?
yes it does, open the Xfire in Game, and in all the games I play that support it it shows it, then hit the Pin next to it and it shows it without having it opened
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 03-11-2008, 01:07 PM   #9 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default Re: measuring fps in a game

Fraps is a memory hog while in record mode....but works great as a FPS counter, its usually a little off though.
__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 03-11-2008, 03:20 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: measuring fps in a game

Quote:
Originally Posted by commandercup View Post
it does!? omfg, let me go check that out lol

edit:

no it doesnt? it records video, but no fps counter?
I've got a screenshot from Soldier Front that shows, Xfire showing both the time and FPS

and for my justice I suck with an M4A1, so don't say I suck
Attached Images
File Type: jpg f955f01bc338c65e824773ecf0fad63af4bb565f.jpg (50.6 KB, 52 views)
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Measuring FPS in Crysis Twizted_3kgt PC Gaming 2 01-18-2008 06:06 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.