max safe temp for a quad core 65nm - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-17-2008, 01:47 AM   #1 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
 
jseber1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982
Default max safe temp for a quad core 65nm

just woke up at 2am to check the rendering out... all cores are going 100%...

checked the temps.... in celsius......80,80,79,78 lol

Am i gunna burn it out? Dont remember the max temps
__________________

jseber1982 is offline  
Old 07-17-2008, 02:08 AM   #2 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: max safe temp for a quad core 65nm

according to this guide on oc.net
those temps are HOOOOOOT
__________________

Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 07-17-2008, 07:14 AM   #3 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
 
jseber1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982
Default Re: max safe temp for a quad core 65nm

geez 60 is listed as hot on that site... i idle at 53 lol. And i am using an HR-03 i think its called. I guess maybe i need a faster fan on that thing... i dont have a super fast one because i am trying to keeep it halfway quiet
jseber1982 is offline  
Old 07-17-2008, 08:12 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
solidsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 600
Default Re: max safe temp for a quad core 65nm

the temperature that it starts to damage the system is 71c

the safe running temp is anything below 65c with 65c being the max temp to push at on load

your best bet is to get some better cooling if its hitting 80c on load
__________________


My new pc spec's ~

Case ~ nexus caterpilla
Mobo ~ Gigabyte GA~P35~DS3R Rev 2.0
CPU ~ Intel Q6600
HDD ~ 2 x 500gb western digital drives
Ram ~ 4GB worth (4 strips) of OCZ 2GB PC2-6400 Platinum Rev 2.0
PSU ~ Corsair 750TX
GPU ~ GTX 295

OS - Windows 7 Home 64-bit
solidsteve is offline  
Old 07-17-2008, 08:38 AM   #5 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
 
jseber1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982
Default Re: max safe temp for a quad core 65nm

I unoverclocked it and at max load now it hits about 62.

Thats nuts considering i have one of the better coolers.

Last night i felt around for hot spots. I have an exhaust fan behind the heatsink on the case, and then i have a fan pushing through the heatsink towards the exhaust fan. Both fans are identical, but yet the air between the heatsink and case was very hot, and the air around the base of the heatsink right next to the board was very hot.,


This is pathetic lol... coming from somebody who used to have phase change. I used to complain when my pc heated up to negative -20*C

Also, do you know if the nvidia monitoring software is inaccurate? I was in the os and it was reading 70.. i rebooted and the bios was reading 57

Dont these things have thermal throttling?
jseber1982 is offline  
Old 07-17-2008, 08:55 AM   #6 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: max safe temp for a quad core 65nm

maybe reseat the hsf and apply new thermal paste.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 07-17-2008, 09:06 AM   #7 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
 
jseber1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982
Default Re: max safe temp for a quad core 65nm

yea i probably should. Its been on there for about a year.

I do have the thermalright ultra 120...dont think its really worth upgrading. Not gunna see much difference with the new stuff that is out

Also gunna rework some the airflow. lol i use cardboard ducts to direct cold air in and hot air out
jseber1982 is offline  
Old 07-17-2008, 09:08 AM   #8 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: max safe temp for a quad core 65nm

cardboard will just absorb heat and not move it...
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 07-17-2008, 09:09 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
solidsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 600
Default Re: max safe temp for a quad core 65nm

try out CoreTemp you will find most cpu temp readers that come built in read the temp from the socket but not from the cores themselves

i would love to have phase change in my next set-up
__________________


My new pc spec's ~

Case ~ nexus caterpilla
Mobo ~ Gigabyte GA~P35~DS3R Rev 2.0
CPU ~ Intel Q6600
HDD ~ 2 x 500gb western digital drives
Ram ~ 4GB worth (4 strips) of OCZ 2GB PC2-6400 Platinum Rev 2.0
PSU ~ Corsair 750TX
GPU ~ GTX 295

OS - Windows 7 Home 64-bit
solidsteve is offline  
Old 07-17-2008, 09:37 AM   #10 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
 
jseber1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982
Default Re: max safe temp for a quad core 65nm

I recommend you get a custom built on from somewhere like extremeoverclocking.com.

The prometia mach 2 and the vapochill.......they dont cut it for quad cores. I was using the mach 2 and i overclocked this cpu up to 4.7, had the voltage up to 1.6. Within 5 minutes of doing a 100% load test on all 4 cores, the cooler heated up to 0* and shut down.

Get a custom one that is specced for the wattage of a quad core. Instead of getting on that you can brag about and say wooooo yeaa this baby hit -80*C..... get one that can handle a higher heatload and stay a little warmer around -50...

Think of it like this... yea a motorcycle is friggin fast as ****.... but try to get it to tow a boat.

Also the custom made ones wont hook into the mobo power button. Overclocking on a stock on SUCK!!!!!ok. you hit the power button, phase change unit cools down for 1 minute, then boots the machine up.. OOPS i pushed the cpu to hard and it is unstable, time for a cold boot. Shut machine down. Push power button....aww man, there is a 2 minute cooldown timer. wait 2 minutes, push button... wait a minute for it to cool down, power up..

When doing lots of ocing, it gets old.

I still have my custom made unit up in the attic.. I just have kids who always mess with my pc, and i dont want them being around that unit,, never know. And no i am not selling mine lol, i might decide to use it again one day. I am also not using water cooling anymore for the same reason..kids. Air cooling is just so easy lol
__________________

jseber1982 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Powersupply for Quad core? zerodayATK New Systems | Building and Buying 5 02-03-2008 10:02 PM
Dual Core or Quad core? braz New Systems | Building and Buying 4 01-31-2008 01:06 AM
trust bios or core temp mattchew13 Overclocking and Modding 5 12-11-2007 04:43 PM
Max Operating Temperature = CPU Temp or Core Temps? commandercup Overclocking and Modding 2 09-28-2007 07:36 PM
Core Temp Nagasama Overclocking and Modding 3 09-09-2007 02:15 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.