Max ram - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-15-2003, 06:11 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 12
Question Max ram

Hi everyone, I am looking at upgrading my comp as it is about 4yrs old and hasn't been touched so therefore is pretty shoddy. at the moment the memory is 64mb sdram (max 384mb) but if I replace the processor with a faster one would i be able to add more than 384mb?

hope this makes sence!!
__________________

Rikku is offline  
Old 12-15-2003, 01:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 333
Default

If you are replacing a four year old processor, then you will be replacing your motherboard also. Your new motheboard will determine the max ram. It will definately be more than 384mb.
__________________

__________________
3 different OS, so yep I\'m confused.
m3incorp is offline  
Old 12-15-2003, 09:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 424
Send a message via AIM to Erik Send a message via Yahoo to Erik
Default

Your maximum memory is based completely upon your motherboard.

Also, you cannot just upgrade your motherboard or processor. It depends on what kind of computer you have. If it is a Dell, good luck. They advise highly against it, but also, they use proprietary stuff, so it makes it almost impossible anyways.
Erik is offline  
Old 12-15-2003, 09:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
XT
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 788
Default

if you could post your specs it would be a lot easier to tell if you could upgrade.
And as for the ram you cpu has nothing to do with it. Its all the mobo but if you replace the mobo it might have a different pin configuartion so you would need a new cpu with that new amount of pins or backwards. If you buy a new cpu with different pins then your mobo you will need a new mobo. Tell me what you got and ill look for some older parts so you wont have to upgrade both
XT is offline  
Old 12-16-2003, 05:23 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 12
Default

wow thanks for all the replys!!

ok im at work at the mo but off the top of my head my specs are :-

intel celeron 500mhz processor
64 sdram - max 384mb
10gb hard drive

it is gonna cost me roughly £200 to upgrade, maybe a bit more, but i have found this for £400 -

Intel Celeron 2.5GHz Processor
256Mb DDR RAM
80Gb Hard Drive
DVD ROM & CDRW Separate Drives
64Mb Shared Graphics
4 USB Ports
56K Modem
Works v 7.0 Plus many more
Microsoft Windows XP Home

do you think it is a better idea to get this one than upgrading
my old one? as i could upgrade the new one and have a super comp!
Rikku is offline  
Old 12-16-2003, 12:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 333
Default

Being that yours is 4 years old. I would say that it would be better to buy the new one. (It is new, correct?)
__________________
3 different OS, so yep I\'m confused.
m3incorp is offline  
Old 12-16-2003, 12:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 12
Default

yep it is brand spanking new - from pc world
Rikku is offline  
Old 12-16-2003, 04:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
XT
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 788
Default

yes go with the new one but tinker with it a little bit in bios and see what you can change for the hell of it. Trust me its fun he-he
XT is offline  
Old 12-17-2003, 08:33 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 12
Default

thats what i was thinking, it might have to wait till after xmas though.

thanks for the advice guys x
Rikku is offline  
Old 12-17-2003, 08:29 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

many peolpe expect they can simply upgrade some parts on their computer to make it faster, but in the end they will realize you have to buy a new computer. computer upgrades are very limited.

Rikku it is safer if you do not try to slavage things from your old computer to put in your new one.
__________________

ekÆsine is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.