max oc on my e6600 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-10-2007, 08:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default max oc on my e6600

Is it normal to not be able to find anything stable on an e6600 (L649G) above 3.6GHz? I've run it at 1.60v (1.53-54 after vdroop) on watercooling with temps in the low-mid 50s. QDR FSB is at 1600, sync mode so the RAM is at DDR800 (2.1v, 5-5-5-12-2T-22), NB at 1.536v (not much vdroop on that; cooled with a TT extreme spirit II)

Is my stepping to late to get any relatively decent OC? It seems raising vcore after 1.55 doesn't do very much (although it allows orthos to run a little stabler). 1.60 is about as high as I want to go.. any higher and temps are too hot for me :P

seeing 4.0 GHz's on air dissapoints me as I cant even get 3.6 on water. I think i might be doing something wrong, but idk. So thats why im asking :\
__________________

__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Old 07-10-2007, 08:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: max oc on my e6600

I'm using the same motherboard as you. Have you disabled anything that you don't use? Like RAID, unused SATA or IDE ports? That's what I did, as this can prevent any specific conflicts while overclocking. Also make sure that the EIST and C1E feature, in CPU config is disabled. For me, I have everything disabled in the CPU config menu, except for the Executable Disable Bit. I think that's what it's called. Also what is your BIOS version? I'm using 0401, and I've heard that it's the most overclockable BIOS version, of this motherboard...but I do want to check out the new 0608, that just released.

I've gotten my e6400 to 3.6 before on 1.55v but not stable, and I didn't want to go higher than that. Right now I'm stable at 3.2, with the vcore on 1.43v, NB on 1.56v, and RAM on spec's 1.920v.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 07-10-2007, 09:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default Re: max oc on my e6600

Hmm, I will try those things, thanks. I use RAID however :P
I'm using 0607. I might look at 0608 (although I think they're the sameish. 0607 was a beta), then I might go back 0401.

Will post results.
__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Old 07-10-2007, 09:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: max oc on my e6600

Here is the guide, I went by to overclock. It was specifically written for the P5N-E SLI motherboard:
AnandTech - The Unofficial ASUS P5N-E SLI 650i Board Thread
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 07-10-2007, 11:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default Re: max oc on my e6600

Quote:
Originally Posted by guide b1gapl linked
E6600 - x6800 and Quads work the 1500 FSB area slowly. The 1600 FSB and above may not be achievable for you ( depends on your chip)
Is it referring to e6600's thru x6800's in general? Or with this board?
__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Old 07-11-2007, 08:21 AM   #6 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: max oc on my e6600

I think it's talking about those range of CPUs, with that board specifically.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 07-12-2007, 03:28 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default Re: max oc on my e6600

So, different board will overclock the same exact chip differently? I didn't know that.. I figured for instance this board was stable at up to about 490-500 FSB (tested), then it would overclock a CPU the same as any other mobo out there that was also stable at high FSBs.
Am I correct, or do higher end boards actually overclock the same chip better?

Also, for the record, and I don't know if it had to do with a BIOS update or not, although I am running 0608 now, I got my CPU stable at 3.6 at 1.61v with ram at 800 5-4-4-12. I rigged up my radiator a little better to not allow for air escaping through the sides (duck taped the whole thing as to force air through the fins) and I was suprised that in the long run, it actually helped to decrease temps. After a while (before duck taping) I came back inside and to my absolute horror, 55 minutes into Orthos, my CPU was at 68c. I figure it did this after a while when water was heating up after so long. After rigging it better, it's stayed at a steady 55-58 even after 3 or 4 hours of orthos.

Anyway, I'm testing 3611 / ddr 802.6 right now at the same voltage. (taking real baby steps. i want to find the ultimate sweet spot)

Off topic: Do you know of a guide that will explain those advanced memory timings the p5n-e has for tweaking? I want to read up and understand those a little better so I can play with 'em. Y'know the ones I'm talking about... there like 10 of 'em under the Command Rate setting.
__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Old 07-12-2007, 08:13 AM   #8 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: max oc on my e6600

wow....I'm going to try 0608, seeing how you're doing with it. I haven't seen a guide for advanced timing tweaking, because a lot say to stay away from it, but I'm sure there is. The only one I touched from there, is the Trc timing, which I set to manufacturer's spec of memory, to 22.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 07-12-2007, 04:29 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default Re: max oc on my e6600

Well I don't know if it's 0608 or not... I've bumped the vcore higher than I ever have before. Orthos failed 8 hours in at 3610 MHz too.. Considering it's about 15 degrees cooler today, I might bump the vcore 10mv today. Load temps are mid-high 40s (sometimes touches 51 52) today at 1.61v.
__________________

__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
difference between e6600 and e6320 siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 16 05-22-2007 12:39 AM
E6600 or Q6600 for my needs E6600 New Systems | Building and Buying 11 05-04-2007 02:57 PM
E6600 Idle temps STATus h2O Overclocking and Modding 3 04-02-2007 09:11 AM
Best Cpu Cooler for E6600 janoloco New Systems | Building and Buying 9 04-01-2007 07:23 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.