Making a phase changer help. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-08-2009, 09:59 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Belzybub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 74
Default Making a phase changer help.

1. Equipment on hand:
Brand Frigidaire
Model FAX052P7A
Type Window Air Conditioner
Features 2-Way Air Direction Control
Mechanical Rotary Controls
Performance
BTU Cooling 5,000
Operating Room Size 150 sq. ft.

2. Equipment needed??????


3. Ideas for cooling the CPU/GPU/MB


I was a mechanic for 7 years. Before school and before the Army. So if you have an idea let me hear it even if you have never tried before. I want to hear from everyone.
__________________

__________________
http://www.loldlg.com"Freedom to speak your mind."
=Intel I7 920=
=lG.SKILL 6GB DDR3 1600=
=Gigabyte X58 Extreme=
=Sapphire HD4870x2=
=WD 300G Velociraptor with XP64=
=PSU Corsair 1000w=
=Case XCLIO A380BK =
Belzybub is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 10:38 AM   #2 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Making a phase changer help.

I think your sig might be a bit large, just looks larger then most.These are the rules:

Quote:
7) Signatures must adhere to the following specifications:

* Text signatures may not exceed 15 lines in size 1, or 8 lines in size 2. Text size 3 and above is not allowed. Text size 1 may only be used with a graphic, with no more than 8 lines.
* The combined size of all images in a sig is a maximum of 468x120. Please keep the file sizes small for loading times.
* Any scripts that display a user's IP address and browser information are not allowed.
* HTML is not allowed in signatures. Some HTML scripts disrupt the layout of the forum and so have been disabled.
* Signatures are subject to Rule 3.
* Signatures are a privilege. They are granted for use when you reach 40 posts. If you abuse the system and try to get to 40 posts as fast as possible you will lose this privilege.
You need to choose there are two types of phase cooling the simple loop which uses a compressor and liquid/gas system with no motor but convective currents. The motorised system which uses a pump inside the thermo siphon loop to give an active flow. You will need plenty of insulation material/foam as everything that is cooled below sub ambient temperatures will collect dew and drip onto your electronics which isn't good.
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 12:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Belzybub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 74
Default Re: Making a phase changer help.

Quote:
Originally Posted by saltynay View Post
I think your sig might be a bit large, just looks larger then most.These are the rules:



You need to choose there are two types of phase cooling the simple loop which uses a compressor and liquid/gas system with no motor but convective currents. The motorised system which uses a pump inside the thermo siphon loop to give an active flow. You will need plenty of insulation material/foam as everything that is cooled below sub ambient temperatures will collect dew and drip onto your electronics which isn't good.
Well that was my main concern with this is moisture. Silicone gel pellets maybe? Also how am I going to get all three?

Edit: or should I use it as a chiller for the others and water cool them?
__________________
http://www.loldlg.com"Freedom to speak your mind."
=Intel I7 920=
=lG.SKILL 6GB DDR3 1600=
=Gigabyte X58 Extreme=
=Sapphire HD4870x2=
=WD 300G Velociraptor with XP64=
=PSU Corsair 1000w=
=Case XCLIO A380BK =
Belzybub is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 03:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Making a phase changer help.

Three parallel loops as you dont want warm gas going into the next component and heating it up if watercooling you would just put an extra rad in between each component if you wanted maximum cooling on each component. Silica gel pellets wouldn't be enough in an open system you could seal the motherboard into a chamber but you would need to cool the north and south bridge chipsets. I have seen people use foam insulation like they use on hot water pipes, and then wrapped in cloth it would appear to stop any drippage.
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 04:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: Making a phase changer help.

most people use that spray/goo on the socket/motherboard to prevent any of the condensation from doing anything and then layer foam on both the motherboard/socket and the tubing itself.
__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is there a moron's guide to making cd/dvd images? 706 Microsoft Windows and Software 4 07-21-2008 04:34 AM
Trojan heralds OS X's 'new phase of exposure to malware' Osiris Apple and Mac 15 07-03-2008 11:07 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.