Making a PC for Over Clocking - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-12-2007, 11:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 750
Send a message via AIM to NOGA
Exclamation Making a PC for Over Clocking

Hey everyone!

Heres the story: I've got a couple of extra parts lying around from a old PC.

I haven't really tried OCing before except on a small scale.

I want to use the old parts and get new peaces to make a pc to OC with.

What would be the best set of hardware to OC with. AMD or Intel? what MOBO? other stuff like that


Current parts.

VGA - 7800gt with fatality cooler
RAM - 4 512mb ddr 184 pin
PSU - enermax 520watt

thanks, noga
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://imageshack.us\"><img src=\"http://img209.imageshack.us/img209/7308/sigset7kw.jpg\" border=\"0\" width=\"468\" alt=\"Image Hosted by ImageShack.us\" /></a>
NOGA is offline  
Old 04-12-2007, 11:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Making a PC for Over Clocking

if you have ddr ram get an amd s939 setup.
hands down.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 04-12-2007, 11:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 750
Send a message via AIM to NOGA
Default Re: Making a PC for Over Clocking

yea i was thinking that but i heard from here that Intel are easier to OC and have more potential.

"AMD fans will be devastated to hear that it is Intel which have the highest overclockability, their pipelines and architecture is a lot larger and is able to handle insane frequencies - but AMD are better for Doom 3" (Kangaroo first post).

Also want to stay with last gen stuff because its cheaper and more is know about how to OC with them/ what boards are best to OC with.
__________________
<a href=\"http://imageshack.us\"><img src=\"http://img209.imageshack.us/img209/7308/sigset7kw.jpg\" border=\"0\" width=\"468\" alt=\"Image Hosted by ImageShack.us\" /></a>
NOGA is offline  
Old 04-14-2007, 01:39 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 750
Send a message via AIM to NOGA
Default Re: Making a PC for Over Clocking

I'm thinking of changing my plan and go with Intel and use ddr2 800 RAM

This board
Newegg.com - ABIT Fatal1ty FP-IN9 SLI LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 650i SLI ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail

This CPU
Newegg.com - Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz 4M shared L2 Cache LGA 775 Processor - Retail

This Ram
Newegg.com - Kingston HyperX 1GB (2 x 512MB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail
__________________
<a href=\"http://imageshack.us\"><img src=\"http://img209.imageshack.us/img209/7308/sigset7kw.jpg\" border=\"0\" width=\"468\" alt=\"Image Hosted by ImageShack.us\" /></a>
NOGA is offline  
Old 04-14-2007, 02:06 AM   #5 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Making a PC for Over Clocking

thats why i say use s939.
the only intels that outperform amd are c2d, because the older intel cpus are stomped by amd's x2 s939 cpus.
lol that quote sounds like an intel fanboy statement...kinda like the amd fanboys now (me included) that rationalize the competition being faster.
for real, man...that post was from 2004, and not quite the case now. if you want to use your ddr ram, you will want to get an amd s939 rig. period. if you want a faster intel c2d, you will have to upgrade your ram to ddr2.
so, really, i am trying to tell you that ddr is fine. if you want to overclock using it, get an amd x2 939 cpu and mobo, and get to it.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 04-14-2007, 12:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 750
Send a message via AIM to NOGA
Default Re: Making a PC for Over Clocking

its just im using these parts for a mod right and i want to use the Abit fata1ty mobo because i already have 2 fatal1ty coolers for cpu and VGA

i want to make it look nice with a red theme
__________________
<a href=\"http://imageshack.us\"><img src=\"http://img209.imageshack.us/img209/7308/sigset7kw.jpg\" border=\"0\" width=\"468\" alt=\"Image Hosted by ImageShack.us\" /></a>
NOGA is offline  
Old 04-16-2007, 09:28 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 750
Send a message via AIM to NOGA
Default Re: Making a PC for Over Clocking

I don't now if i want to go through with this because I might just want to wait until I upgrade my computer next winter or so to the new generation of DirectX 10 cards and maybe an AMD quad core!

Then just use my current PC to OC with later.
__________________
<a href=\"http://imageshack.us\"><img src=\"http://img209.imageshack.us/img209/7308/sigset7kw.jpg\" border=\"0\" width=\"468\" alt=\"Image Hosted by ImageShack.us\" /></a>
NOGA is offline  
Old 04-16-2007, 12:02 PM   #8 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default Re: Making a PC for Over Clocking

ew dont get the fatality board just for the red....the reveiws on it are horrible...and really its no different from the regular ones.
get this mobo-
Newegg.com - EVGA 122-CK-NF67-T1 LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 680i LT SLI ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail
__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 04-17-2007, 12:06 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 750
Send a message via AIM to NOGA
Default Re: Making a PC for Over Clocking

meh, im a sucker for pretty mobos. that ones nice but no cigar

any other suggestions?
__________________
<a href=\"http://imageshack.us\"><img src=\"http://img209.imageshack.us/img209/7308/sigset7kw.jpg\" border=\"0\" width=\"468\" alt=\"Image Hosted by ImageShack.us\" /></a>
NOGA is offline  
Old 04-17-2007, 12:27 AM   #10 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Making a PC for Over Clocking

Um...the P5B Deluxe is a fine pretty board. Don't waste your money on an overpriced board.
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Making a website... Help DerekGoodson Web Graphics and Design 12 04-18-2007 03:49 PM
Making Partition yamtien Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 03-29-2007 05:52 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.