Making A Custom Keyboard - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-23-2004, 05:25 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 595
Send a message via AIM to Roshi229 Send a message via Yahoo to Roshi229
Default

i can't tell you how to make a keyboard... sorry, that would be cool. but you may want to look into something like this... it looks about like what you're looking for (a bit overkill, but close)
http://www6.tomshardware.com/game/200403061/
good luck, and Happy Holidays Fuzzy!
__________________

__________________
http://www.kbdigisol.com

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search first, ask later!\"></form>
powered by emily .
Roshi229 is offline  
Old 12-23-2004, 06:23 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 511
Send a message via MSN to LegendBreath
Default Re: Making A Custom Keyboard

Quote:
Originally posted by fuzzyhair
I am planning on making a keyboard for my internet poker-addicted dad. All I want on it are a F1, F2, and F3 Button. How would i do this. I have never done anything like this and i think it would be a great project.
Thanks

I'm not sure but, take a keyboard, open it, take the peice that there is near the num lock caps lock scroll lock light and take the plastic thing that all keys connection goes on it, cut it and just leave the f1 f2 f3 but, be careful not to cut the connection to the f1 f2 f3 to the thing near the num pad.

I think it would work, if im wrong someone just tell me.
__________________

__________________
LegendBreath is offline  
Old 12-23-2004, 08:24 PM   #13 (permalink)
Indeed.
 
Greg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,600
Default

It might work if the circuits dont go through more then 1 key before returning to the main part. Also, how would you cut the casing to make it look good and hold they keys?
__________________

Greg is offline  
Old 12-23-2004, 09:20 PM   #14 (permalink)
Indeed.
 
Greg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,600
Default

Also might want to look into something like this http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...8922&CatId=536
__________________

Greg is offline  
Old 12-23-2004, 10:02 PM   #15 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Well first you cant get parts and throw them togather and get a keyboard. The only way left is editing a keyboard, without braking it. This would be very hard, but one good aspect about a keyboard is that if a button dont work, then that button alone is purged.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 12-24-2004, 02:07 AM   #16 (permalink)
Indeed.
 
Greg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,600
Default

Maybe you could fold the plasic part (?) without breaking it , then just have the 3 buttons on the top layer. You might need to stick some cardboard or something in between folds to prevent short circuiting. I have no idea how well this would work.
__________________

Greg is offline  
Old 12-24-2004, 01:06 PM   #17 (permalink)
Indeed.
 
Greg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,600
Default

Just remembered that the metal part has to touch the bottim of the plastic. You'd have to put foil on top of the cardboard between layers too.
__________________

__________________

Greg is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.