Major Upgrade question... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-24-2004, 05:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 34
Send a message via AIM to Jeffrey99
Default Major Upgrade question...

I want to do some major upgrading for my old HP Pavilion 9600 Desktop...but I don't know if my motherboard can handle a Pentium 4 that I want to install.
Current specs on my 9600:
Pentium 3 733MHz(I want to upgrade to a Pentium 4)
256MB RAM(I'm going to upgrade to 512MB
NVIDIA RIVA TNT2 PRO 16MB(I want to upgrade it to a XFX 6800 Ultra 256MB)
...but my friends said I wouldnt have to buy a new motherboard or even just build a new pc...if my motherboard in already an intel based motherboard
__________________

Jeffrey99 is offline  
Old 11-24-2004, 05:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 559
Default

No, there isn't any kind of P3 motherboard that can take a P4. They are completely different chips, hence they have different pin outputs.
__________________

ChaosBlizzard is offline  
Old 11-24-2004, 06:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

You will have to buy a new motherboard, too.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-24-2004, 09:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

also, you might need new ram if your ram is SD RAM
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 11-24-2004, 09:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

I think they got P4 mobo's with SD too.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-25-2004, 05:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Oh yeah P3 mobo are completly diffrent. Since its a P3, built a new one. That howl system sounds nasty. With that video card its obvious you want some sort of gaming computer. If thats what your looking for, your not gonna get it with just upgrading THAT system.
__________________

__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.