major setup problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-05-2004, 10:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3
Default major setup problem

I entered the setup configuration when my computer started up and enabled the overheat protection option. Now, whenever my computer starts, it shuts down before I can get to the setup again. Please help!
__________________

blackdogsong is offline  
Old 03-08-2004, 01:48 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3
Default

Okay, I tried resetting the jumper, but it still doesn't seem to get it to the point. Either I'm hitting the wrong switch or it's just fried... Are there any other ways?
__________________

blackdogsong is offline  
Old 03-08-2004, 01:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 590
Send a message via AIM to Shrapnill
Default

Well, you need to be sure youre doing it with the proper jumpers. Consult the motherboard manual to be sure. And you need to keep it on there for a good 5-7 seconds for it to take.

If youre doing it properly EVERYTHING in the bios will be reset so that will fix it.
__________________
System specs? Lets just get down to it people:

My penis is bigger than yours.
Shrapnill is offline  
Old 03-08-2004, 02:24 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3
Default

Okay, I tried the technique where you take the battery out and it got me to the screen that said my system specs, but it also said a CMOS error. Then I put the battery back in and it repeated the old process where it shuts down almost right away.
blackdogsong is offline  
Old 03-08-2004, 02:44 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 300
Send a message via Yahoo to mike11973
Default

what mobo do you have?.....are you also moving the proper jumper to reset it?.....then moving it back after a cpl of seconds b4 putting the battery back in?
__________________
NF7/S Rev2.0 : D25 Modded bios by -=Merlin=-(cpc on)
2500+M @ (250*10)
G.Skill ddr 400LA(TCCD)running 1:1@250
3-3-3-3
Saphire 9800 Pro
cpu-1.8v
ram-2.7v
chipset-1.6v

Knowledge IS power....dont be afraid to be open to it.


<a href=\"http://arc.aquamark3.com/arc/arc_view.php?run=1493626296\">My aquamark score</a>

overclocking 101
mike11973 is offline  
Old 03-08-2004, 08:18 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 405
Send a message via AIM to mousepad
Default

If you do they battery reset way, then do it right. Take the battery out and let it sit for 30 minutes. After doing so, pop it right back in and your settings should reset. This way always works for me, since the jumper setting, for some reason, won't work.
__________________

__________________
me: in fact the san diego\'s pretty much hit the very top on games
friend: yeah
friend: its all the illegal labor


Computer Specs
HP Presario R4025US NoteBook
Athlon 64 AMD3200+ .... 15.4\" WXGA
1GB DDR .... 80GB + 120 GB External
DVD¬ĪR/RW .... ATI RADEON Xpress 200M
mousepad is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.