Low power for GPU/overclocking gtx260 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-27-2008, 10:26 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 92
Default Low power for GPU/overclocking gtx260

New gtx 260
card 38a min.
psu 38a max.

Just testing this out
the gtx260 is not doing
much better than my
old 9800gt.

When I put a better
psu in will this make
a big difference?

have a 50 or 60 amp
sitting here ready to
go in.

Thanks
__________________

kbaird is offline  
Old 11-27-2008, 11:21 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
QuaziBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 660
Default Re: Low power for GPU

the performance difference between those cards isn't huge. I don't believe you will see a performance boost with a new PSU. You will, however, be able to oc that bad mofo.
__________________

__________________
Network Administrator /
Project Coordinator
Moli Industries LTD.
www.rapidts.com
QuaziBee is offline  
Old 11-27-2008, 11:39 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 92
Default Re: Low power for GPU

Thanks. Never oc'ed a gpu.

What software do you use?
kbaird is offline  
Old 11-27-2008, 11:42 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
QuaziBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 660
Default Re: Low power for GPU

I use ATI tool. and yes it works with NVIDIA cards.

ATITool - Overclocking utility for ATI and NVIDIA cards
__________________
Network Administrator /
Project Coordinator
Moli Industries LTD.
www.rapidts.com
QuaziBee is offline  
Old 11-27-2008, 11:53 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 92
Default Re: Low power for GPU

Thanks. I will check it out.

Can you see anything that would
or could be slowing my setup?

P5Q Q9300 4gig800 gtx260 vista64
kbaird is offline  
Old 11-27-2008, 12:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
QuaziBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 660
Default Re: Low power for GPU

make sure your using the latest drivers
__________________
Network Administrator /
Project Coordinator
Moli Industries LTD.
www.rapidts.com
QuaziBee is offline  
Old 11-27-2008, 12:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Low power for GPU

i think rivatuner is better and easier IMO:
RivaTuner v2.20 download from Guru3D.com
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 11-27-2008, 12:11 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 92
Default Re: Low power for GPU

I installed nvidia 1.80
but 1.80 and 1.7? are
on the system should
I remove both and
reinstall 1.80?

I looked at driver info
in device manager and
can not tell the version,
it's not showing anything
like 1.7x or 1.80..

Edit:
I meant 180.48 and 178.24
Update driver with 180.48
directory said driver uptodate.
kbaird is offline  
Old 11-29-2008, 09:54 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 92
Default Re: Low power for GPU

It's pretty good now.

Tried to oc with riva tuner and it did help.

Turning up the core clock was good.
Turning up mem speed not good.

How far can I turn it up?

Do I need to put in the
bigger psu to do it?

edit:
base gtx260
no oc or 216
kbaird is offline  
Old 11-29-2008, 11:08 AM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Low power for GPU

Quote:
Originally Posted by kbaird View Post
It's pretty good now.

Tried to oc with riva tuner and it did help.

Turning up the core clock was good.
Turning up mem speed not good.

How far can I turn it up?

Do I need to put in the
bigger psu to do it?

edit:
base gtx260
no oc or 216
Depends on your card, the batch of the card, the place it is, the kind of cooling it has...

Those are just few of the variables that determine how far it OC's..

Try hitting max Core or Max Memory and let it screw around until it finds the highest Core speed
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old Power supply Guide (2008) Ste New Systems | Building and Buying 223 12-12-2009 09:05 PM
An Extensive Guide: Maximizing Performance, Minimizing Budget Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 42 08-23-2008 06:35 PM
GTX 280 GPU-Z and pictures maroon1 New Technology and Products 33 06-10-2008 03:37 PM
Power Supplies page006 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 05-22-2008 07:14 PM
Help with my PSU! weezerguy187 New Systems | Building and Buying 22 01-27-2008 04:58 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.