low 3dmark05 scores on 7900gtx - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-08-2006, 09:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 107
Default low 3dmark05 scores on 7900gtx

Hey guys. i posted i little while ago about some ow scores on my new 7900gtx. i thought it was a psu problem but have since bought a new enermax noisetaker 600watt. But my scores are still quite low. I'm only scoring 8000 on the 05 mark. Are there any components that i have that might be bottlenecking the full performance of this card?? My system is below.
__________________

__________________
Incar Upholstery ltd.. Custom Auto Trimming in NZ
Cm Stacker 831//600watt enermax noisetaker//Asus p5n32-e sli//Intel E6600@3.5//2 x 1gig corsair xms2 ddr2 800 @ 900mhz//250gig seagate 7200 harddrive+320gig w/d//sb audigy2zx//8800gtx//Cooling loop:swifttech pump>blackice 240 rad>dd tdx cpu block>swiftech chipset block>ocnz res\\z-board gaming keyboard// razer krait mouse //22inch cmv widescreen
trimmin is offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 09:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 154
Default

It might be your processor. Or you may just have a faulty card. Is it overheating?
__________________

fuz_master is offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 09:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 107
Default

hey. The card is fine. I tested it in a dfi ultra-d with a amd64-3800 and worked fine wih a score of just over 10500 on clock speeds. So i think something on my system is bottlenecking it somewhere. its had a fresh install of windows aswell so the harddrive is clean. used the latest drivers aswell and tested the beta drivers to.
__________________
Incar Upholstery ltd.. Custom Auto Trimming in NZ
Cm Stacker 831//600watt enermax noisetaker//Asus p5n32-e sli//Intel E6600@3.5//2 x 1gig corsair xms2 ddr2 800 @ 900mhz//250gig seagate 7200 harddrive+320gig w/d//sb audigy2zx//8800gtx//Cooling loop:swifttech pump>blackice 240 rad>dd tdx cpu block>swiftech chipset block>ocnz res\\z-board gaming keyboard// razer krait mouse //22inch cmv widescreen
trimmin is offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 09:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 154
Default

Ok kool. Enjoy your kickass card
fuz_master is offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 10:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

I betting that it's you're cpu. Thats not a very good cpu. It's only 3Ghz.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 10:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 107
Default

but would it decrease my 05score by up to 2000
__________________
Incar Upholstery ltd.. Custom Auto Trimming in NZ
Cm Stacker 831//600watt enermax noisetaker//Asus p5n32-e sli//Intel E6600@3.5//2 x 1gig corsair xms2 ddr2 800 @ 900mhz//250gig seagate 7200 harddrive+320gig w/d//sb audigy2zx//8800gtx//Cooling loop:swifttech pump>blackice 240 rad>dd tdx cpu block>swiftech chipset block>ocnz res\\z-board gaming keyboard// razer krait mouse //22inch cmv widescreen
trimmin is offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 11:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

Yea, 3dmark takes CPU into account too.

Pentium 4 3.0ghz = Athlon 64 3000+
Pentium 4 3.8ghz = Athlon 64 3800+

See what I mean?
Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 04-09-2006, 12:00 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 107
Default

i see what you mean with cpu speeds. But on the opening scene on the test my friends dfi board and my card is 51fps but on my board its 45 fps. Do you think that is because of the cpu? and not any other part of my setup? he scores more with his msi 7800gtx o\clocked
__________________
Incar Upholstery ltd.. Custom Auto Trimming in NZ
Cm Stacker 831//600watt enermax noisetaker//Asus p5n32-e sli//Intel E6600@3.5//2 x 1gig corsair xms2 ddr2 800 @ 900mhz//250gig seagate 7200 harddrive+320gig w/d//sb audigy2zx//8800gtx//Cooling loop:swifttech pump>blackice 240 rad>dd tdx cpu block>swiftech chipset block>ocnz res\\z-board gaming keyboard// razer krait mouse //22inch cmv widescreen
trimmin is offline  
Old 04-09-2006, 01:36 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 543
Default

what you wanna look at is the graphics card score, and minus the score of the cpu. then if they are the same you know its your cpu
__________________
3200+ A64 skt 754
ASUS K8N4-E Deluxe
2x 512mb corsair value
X1800XL 512mb@X1800XT
2x 80g WD SATA
X-FI Platinum
Antec P180b
Running is offline  
Old 04-09-2006, 01:58 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 686
Default

As far as I know 3dmark05 doesnt add the cpu score and gpu score right? isn't that only in 06? But yeah I believe it is your CPU. Plus it's an intel, which isn't very good for gaming.
__________________

__________________
slick_tech15 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.