Looking for ram that will work on my motherboard (pc noob help plz) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-08-2004, 09:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1
Default Looking for ram that will work on my motherboard (pc noob help plz)

Ok I have a pentium 4 1.8ghz and 256 sdram (yes SDram no DDram)

Now what I would like to do is upgrade my pc to 1GB sdram so my pc will run better

Now I'm totally a dumbass when it comes to pc's and all the hardware components and stuff so I figured I'd come here for some help.

Ok the name of my motherboard is

"Microstar Int. MS-6399 SDRAM Motherboard"

I have opened CPUZ to know this and it says it had a

Chipset: Intel i845 Rev. A3

it has 2 slots and I want to put in 2 x 512mb ram sticks

Now can you guys help me and give me a link of an online shop (that ships to europe) with ram that will work on this particular motherboard

I'm just afraid I'm gonna buy ram that wont be compatible cause I'm a newbie and didn't know any better

thx in advance

wezze is offline  
Old 12-08-2004, 04:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Nubius's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600

use CPU-Z and under the SPD Tab it'll give you more information about your memory. All you really need to look for is how fast it is, meaning you're looking to see if it's PC100 or PC133. I don't know any europeans shops, so if you happen to already know one, go to them, look for PC133 SDRAM (assuming it says in CPU-Z you have PC133 currently) Basically CPU-Z is all you need. It'll tell you what your memory is. All memory speeds are shown like PC100, PC133, PC2100, PC2700, PC3200; of course those later 3 starting with PC2100 is DDR so your machine wont be able to run it, but I'm saying that's how you look for your RAM.

Nubius is offline  
Old 12-08-2004, 05:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088

Also make sure your mobo will let you use all that Ram. If you post the mobo name i can tell you.
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:55 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.