looking to over clock 2.8 ghz dual core to 3.0 ghz - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-27-2005, 10:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default looking to over clock 2.8 ghz dual core to 3.0 ghz

hey i have never overclocked anything in my life and i have a dell XPS system with a 2.8 ghz dual core proccessor i was wondering if there is any way to overclock it to 3.0ghz without overheading it or messing up the computer.

thanx.
__________________

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 11:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

You can't overclock that computer because it's a Dell. They make custom motherboards for their PC's and they lock the bios and give no overclocking options whatsoever. They do this so you don't overclock the CPU to the max and fry the thing so Dell doesn't have to replace the CPU.
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 03:12 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 378
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by reggie_da_man
You can't overclock that computer because it's a Dell. They make custom motherboards for their PC's and they lock the bios and give no overclocking options whatsoever. They do this so you don't overclock the CPU to the max and fry the thing so Dell doesn't have to replace the CPU.
Yep. Pretty dumb if you ask me. They could just give overclocking options, make the BIOS keep track of whether you ever use them, and put in the warranty that they won't replace processors that have been overclocked. Or they'll sell you a new one for three times the market price. When my GeForce 4 Ti 4600 died under a broken fan, they wanted $409 for a Radeon 9700 Pro! And this was summer 2005! Well, at least the lady was kind enough to assure me that it was a "top-of-the-line" card.
__________________
ilovesocks is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 09:11 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ilovesocks
When my GeForce 4 Ti 4600 died under a broken fan, they wanted $409 for a Radeon 9700 Pro! And this was summer 2005! Well, at least the lady was kind enough to assure me that it was a "top-of-the-line" card.

LMFAO!!! Radeon 9700 pro real "top of the line card. I got another Dell story. My memory died and My dad called the support and the wanted 250$ for a pc2100 256mb LOL













mf
MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 03:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

It seems like that dell customer support will do anything to scam you into paying 3x times more than the thing really cost.

Look at the price differences

www.dell.com
http://accessories.us.dell.com/sna/P...ctlisting.aspx

www.newegg.com
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130202

$40 Dollar Price Difference
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 05:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Disillusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default

Can you reflash a locked BIOS?
__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 05:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

WTF are you talking about?!?!? Lol. There is a $120 price difference between those two cards. Also usually name brand companies are way more expensive then buying a custom made pc or even just buying parts.
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 06:19 PM   #8 (permalink)
AKA ComatoseClown
 
H4x3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,526
Send a message via AIM to H4x3r Send a message via MSN to H4x3r
Default

^^^^ if they have the same specs that is ^^^^
__________________
H4x3r is offline  
Old 11-29-2005, 12:46 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default

lol dell sux :P (just my mild oppinion )
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.