Looking for Cable Mgmt. Tips for my case (Pics Included) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-29-2006, 01:55 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 129
Default Looking for Cable Mgmt. Tips for my case ( Brighter Pics Included)

I had just completed building my first computer and the first thing i had done was sleeve the wires and do some cable management. The pics show the arrangement. What I'm looking for is any advice or tips for reducing the overall amount of cables visible in my case. I've already tucked as many wires into the back of the motherboard and other similar crevices. Some may notice that the Harddrive is in a peculiar place. This is due to a particular setup with the motherboard and will be placed in the correct slot afterwards. I won't go into any more details, just see for yourself. If I'm voilating any image size or posting rules please inform me and I'll fix it.

Thanks.


__________________

GreenTeaBagger is offline  
Old 06-29-2006, 01:57 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 566
Send a message via AIM to reckliss
Default

using a flash would help us see alot better
__________________

reckliss is offline  
Old 06-29-2006, 01:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 129
Default

ofcourse i'll see if i can obtain brighter images.

Edit: Brighter Images obtained. See original post.
GreenTeaBagger is offline  
Old 06-29-2006, 04:30 AM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default

Put your HD backwords in its proper cages and run the IDE cables behind the 2 cages. if you have to use your imagination and start wiggling them threw holes and crap like i do.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 06-29-2006, 08:51 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 309
Default

Well done!

looks good. If I am interpreting the orientation of your case/MoBo/CNPS9000 cooler correctly, then your Zalman CPU cooler is 90 degrees off-kilter.

The airflow for the CPU cooler should blow directly toward the rear exhaust so that the airstream is one direction.

I looks as though the CPU cooler is blowing toward the PSU, you may want to verify the accuracy of my observation...

In addition I had a problem with my PSU venting into the case and directly onto the Heatsink. If you feel comfortable with the process and you have the tools you might want to install a blowhole on the top of your case and flip the PSU upside-down so it vents upaward and directly out of the case. When I did this my CPU temp dropped 5C under load.

Again, nice job. I love clean installations!
__________________
[SIZE=\"1\"]E6400 @ 3.4 , Noctua 120
7900GT @ 670/1680 , VF900
P5B-D 0711
2 x 1GB Patriot 6400 @ 425
WD SATA 250GB
VX2025WM
Neo HE 550
P180 / G15 / MX1000[/SIZE]
Syrillian is offline  
Old 06-29-2006, 11:10 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

There used a VERY nice guide at modders hq, but i guess that site is down permanently.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 06-29-2006, 11:28 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

to finish it off, you can use cable ties

or if you can, see if you can hide some of the cables behind your motherboard
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-29-2006, 01:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 566
Send a message via AIM to reckliss
Default

yes you wanna change that zalman so the fan is at the front of case blowing the air through it and out the back
reckliss is offline  
Old 07-01-2006, 04:09 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 129
Default

Thanks for all the input guys! I've recieved my geforce 7600 and another DVD drive. The new installations required NEW cable management. On the bottom are pis of the new management and the Rotated Zalman CPU HSF. I've tried to flip the HDD as some of you suggested but the "screwless" attatchment design wont allow it =(. Many , MANY PSU wires have been tucked back behind the motherboard. Also I tihnk I'll ask my father for some help installing that brilliant Blowhole suggestion by Syrillian. Tell me what you think!





Thaks again to everyone who replied!
GreenTeaBagger is offline  
Old 07-02-2006, 05:56 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,243
Send a message via AIM to CrAzY_GaMeR_07
Default

cant you remove the screwless thiong for that one bay, and use screws?
__________________

__________________
CrAzY_GaMeR_07 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.