Locking up after vid card install - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-28-2008, 12:26 AM   #11 (permalink)
I poop on the rug
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,217
Default Re: Locking up after vid card install

i've said the samething to myself... lol
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 8700k | 16GB G.skill Trident Z | Z370 Gigabyte Auros Gaming Extreme |
Asus GTX1080 Strix | Corsair H100i V2 | Corsair 750D | Corsair RM850X
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 01-28-2008, 08:09 PM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
J9Darkwing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 94
Default Re: Locking up after vid card install

I'm sooo sick of seeing superpi tell me 'Not in round' or 'Not convergent in SQR'. Grrrrrrr. I'm overclocked to 3.37 and the first thing I do is run a 1meg superpi and no matter what I do I get the same result. Here's my setup now
FSB 1500
Mem in synch mode at 750mhz with loose timings
vcore 1.45v
mem 2.2v
1.2HT at 1.45
NB at 1.4
SB at 1.65
CPU VTT at 1.5

My highest core temp is 48 and my lowest is 44. Any thoughts to help me get stable?
__________________

__________________
~~~~~~~Salute!~~~~~~~ Darkwing
www.nightowlremote.com
J9Darkwing is offline  
Old 01-28-2008, 08:11 PM   #13 (permalink)
I poop on the rug
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,217
Default Re: Locking up after vid card install

ya i've been stuck there too, i never tried super pi, i managed 3dmark06 okay

go check out XtremeSystems Forums - Powered by vBulletin

and go to search and type in the mobo name, you should be able to find some good help there
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 8700k | 16GB G.skill Trident Z | Z370 Gigabyte Auros Gaming Extreme |
Asus GTX1080 Strix | Corsair H100i V2 | Corsair 750D | Corsair RM850X
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 01-28-2008, 08:24 PM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
J9Darkwing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 94
Default Re: Locking up after vid card install

Thanks. Fixing to flash my bios to 1303 version and see if that helps.
__________________
~~~~~~~Salute!~~~~~~~ Darkwing
www.nightowlremote.com
J9Darkwing is offline  
Old 01-29-2008, 09:22 PM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
J9Darkwing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 94
Default Re: Locking up after vid card install

Flashing my bios fried my bios. Called Asus last night and after literally 45 minutes waiting for tech support I got a nice lady who is sending me a new bios chip. Should be here tomorrow.
I was using bios version 1205 and tried to flash to 1303. When I talked to her on the phone she said both versions are betas and asked which one I wanted. I said, uhhhh 1104? lol
Now I'm surfing the web on a screaming 433mhz celeron with 128meg of ram. Bet y'all are jealous of my 'rig' now. lol
It's an odd sensation to just be typing and have to wait for the computer to catch up.
__________________
~~~~~~~Salute!~~~~~~~ Darkwing
www.nightowlremote.com
J9Darkwing is offline  
Old 01-29-2008, 09:28 PM   #16 (permalink)
I poop on the rug
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,217
Default Re: Locking up after vid card install

ya asus support is TERRIBLE.... which is why i got rid of mine!!! haha

the forums suck.. and all of the moderators try to say its something else's fault and not the mobo.. yet i've tried my gpu, ram and cpu in other computers.... *******s

ya, there's been alot of problems w/ bios chips getting fried.. which is why i never flashed my bios
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 8700k | 16GB G.skill Trident Z | Z370 Gigabyte Auros Gaming Extreme |
Asus GTX1080 Strix | Corsair H100i V2 | Corsair 750D | Corsair RM850X
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 01-29-2008, 09:36 PM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
J9Darkwing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 94
Default Re: Locking up after vid card install

I've been tinkering with the idea of getting a new MB to fit my q6600, ram and dual 7800GTs. The only worry I have is that I might have to purchase vista again. Although if I tell them it's a motherboard swap out they may activate it for me. I could email them pics of me urinating on the flaming carcass of my asus mb. That may help.
What MB would you recommend?
__________________
~~~~~~~Salute!~~~~~~~ Darkwing
www.nightowlremote.com
J9Darkwing is offline  
Old 01-29-2008, 10:22 PM   #18 (permalink)
I poop on the rug
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,217
Default Re: Locking up after vid card install

evga 680i A1 or a 780i... those 2 are pretty much the only nvidia boards that'll overclock well w/ a quad core

and i think w/ most windows copies it allows up to 3 computers per household, so you should be fine.. otherwise, ya, just call and let them know
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 8700k | 16GB G.skill Trident Z | Z370 Gigabyte Auros Gaming Extreme |
Asus GTX1080 Strix | Corsair H100i V2 | Corsair 750D | Corsair RM850X
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 01-30-2008, 11:07 PM   #19 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
J9Darkwing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 94
Default Re: Locking up after vid card install

Got my new bios chip in this evening, got it installed and overclocked my system to 3.01ghz by doing nothing more than changing the fsb and leaving the memory linked. Didn't have much luck at any fsb over that but haven't felt like messing with it much this evening.
As my original post stated I couldn't get it to overclock to 2.8 without some kind of problems. With the new 1103 bios chip I've been at 3.01ghz running prime95 for three hours and the highest my temps have gotten were 66c. Most of the time the temp stays between 58 and 63c. Also, I have my case fans on Qfan which keeps them nice and quiet. I'm confident that if I get the computer up to 3.2 or 3.4ghz and turn my fans up to 60 or 70% I'll be able to keep my temps down.
__________________
~~~~~~~Salute!~~~~~~~ Darkwing
www.nightowlremote.com
J9Darkwing is offline  
Old 01-30-2008, 11:14 PM   #20 (permalink)
I poop on the rug
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,217
Default Re: Locking up after vid card install

that new bios chip seems to do a nice job! maybe i should this one fried and grab a new one (well its not my board anymore... its my friends.. so not my concern!!) haha!
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 8700k | 16GB G.skill Trident Z | Z370 Gigabyte Auros Gaming Extreme |
Asus GTX1080 Strix | Corsair H100i V2 | Corsair 750D | Corsair RM850X
NosBoost300 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vid Card upgrade tariqadkhan Laptops and Notebooks 14 12-20-2007 05:27 PM
Problem with my Video Card? logitech998 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 12-16-2007 11:29 PM
Second PCI card no detected in Windows khairilthegreat Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 09-22-2007 12:46 PM
Video Card Power Feeback? Lord Zeon Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 06-27-2007 06:45 PM
Graphics card fan iviv Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 03-31-2007 05:52 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.