load temp on geforce GO 7800 gtx? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-16-2006, 01:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
 
jseber1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982
Default load temp on geforce GO 7800 gtx?

Just wondering if anybody has any temps to compare to mine. I know that the desktop version runs aroun 50*C.. The one in my laptop at full load hits 80*C. Does anybody elses hit this high?

thanks
__________________

jseber1982 is offline  
Old 01-16-2006, 02:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 771
Default

I would imagine everyones would in a laptop...you don't have to worry about anything until you hit 100*C, and even then you're still safe.
__________________

__________________
  • AMD FX 8350 Black Edition
  • XFX R9 390 8GB
  • 16GB (8x2) GSKILL DDR3 1866mhz
  • GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+
  • Aspire X-Plorer Silent Case
  • PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610W Continuous
  • 180GB Intel 520 SSD
  • Vizio 32" TV (1920/1080)/Acer P221W 22" Widescreen LCD (1680/1050)
Twizted_3kgt is offline  
Old 01-16-2006, 02:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
 
jseber1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982
Default

thats just nuts. if i saw 100*C in my desktop, i would dive down and pull the power cable out lol
jseber1982 is offline  
Old 01-16-2006, 03:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 482
Default

my 7800gtx is at about 60 degrees C I don't know how it compares to laptop stuff though
__________________
Flying-Squirrel is offline  
Old 01-16-2006, 04:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 771
Default

The threshold is 120*C so you're safe until then...in a laptop it might heat up some stuff around it if it's that hot though.
__________________
  • AMD FX 8350 Black Edition
  • XFX R9 390 8GB
  • 16GB (8x2) GSKILL DDR3 1866mhz
  • GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+
  • Aspire X-Plorer Silent Case
  • PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610W Continuous
  • 180GB Intel 520 SSD
  • Vizio 32" TV (1920/1080)/Acer P221W 22" Widescreen LCD (1680/1050)
Twizted_3kgt is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 08:26 AM   #6 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
 
jseber1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982
Default

ok cool. yea when i was on the phone with the sager guy, i asked him a decent load temp,,, he was like "well dat depends on hwhat ou have in or umputer"lol he said that the amount of ram depends on how hot your vid card gets, which to me is nuts, but ok lol. He said as long as you dont have an alarm going off, dont worry about it
jseber1982 is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 06:30 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

Sorry to here about ur desktop, but instead of putting it in teh trashcompacter u prolly could've had all of ur hardware replaced with the warranty.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 07:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Yeah you cant really get some decent cooling with a desktop, maybe clean out the holes on teh bottom for the fan, and stuff like that
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 01-24-2006, 08:57 AM   #9 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
 
jseber1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982
Default

i think right when i put it in the compactor, my life flashed befor my eyes and i made a choice. I have 2 kids, both under 3 yrs old... do i really need a desktop that i spend like 3 hours a day working on and droppin money in?nope,. all i need is something that is a great gamer and works good lol. i think, in one day, i grew out of my tweaker phase. Oh wait no i didnt, im workin on overclocking my gpu in my laptop lol
jseber1982 is offline  
Old 01-24-2006, 11:12 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 132
Default

Thats a f**kin sweet laptop though lol.
__________________

__________________
  • AMD Athlon 64 3700+ San Diego
  • MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum nForce3 Ultra
  • TwinMos 1GB PC3200 Dual Channel
  • HIS Excalibur ATI Radeon X800 XL ICEQII 256MB
  • Dell 19\" UltraSharp TFT
  • Razer Diaomondback
  • Pioneer DVD-RW
  • Asus TA-210 Case
http://www.ko-clan.net/Fury_Sig.jpg
fury36 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.