**The LINPACK Thread** - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-06-2009, 06:05 PM   #41 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: **The Official TF LINPACK Thread**

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaymate View Post
Well I think you'll find people saying the same thing about LinX once we see some AMD numbers.
True, although the more benchmarks people claim are biased the less believable it becomes.
__________________

__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 12-06-2009, 06:25 PM   #42 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: **The Official TF LINPACK Thread**

Ok, to alleviate the problems with the x64 guys I'm going to allow you to run it in 64bit for compatibility reasons. However take those numbers with a grain of salt as they will be inflated a bit over the 32bit ones.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaymate View Post
Well I think you'll find people saying the same thing about LinX once we see some AMD numbers.

LINPACK is used on AMD, Intel, Cell and everything else. It's the main supercomputer benchmark. it's an industry standard. So if someone is complaining about fairness I'm going to call ricer foul and say they are sore looser.

Also Super PI is single threaded, 32bit only and very Intel biased. It hasn't been updated since '95 or so. It's a terrible benchmark. if LINPACK is good enough for IBM, NASA, and everyone else who has a super computer it's good enough for me.
__________________

__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 12-06-2009, 07:28 PM   #43 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: **The Official TF LINPACK Thread**

I smell some overclocking tonight... >:]
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 12-06-2009, 07:47 PM   #44 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: WI, USA
Posts: 1,556
Send a message via MSN to yzmxer608
Default Re: **The Official TF LINPACK Thread**

So should we still use whatever problem and memory size that "All" gives us?
__________________
yzmxer608 is offline  
Old 12-06-2009, 07:53 PM   #45 (permalink)
True Techie
 
septic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: soul
Posts: 244
Default Re: **The Official TF LINPACK Thread**

just run 2 tests. one with 12,000 and one with 15,000 ruffly. I couldn't run 15,500 myself as you saw in my failed test. I ran 12k and 14k at 3.0 and 3.3 succesfully and my gflops was always around 16-17.
__________________
asus striker extreme/e6850/4g ddr2 800/8800gts640sli
septic is offline  
Old 12-06-2009, 10:34 PM   #46 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: **The Official TF LINPACK Thread**

Quote:
Originally Posted by septic View Post
just run 2 tests. one with 12,000 and one with 15,000 ruffly. I couldn't run 15,500 myself as you saw in my failed test. I ran 12k and 14k at 3.0 and 3.3 succesfully and my gflops was always around 16-17.
All determines the max problem size that your memory can hold. Setting a number outside of the parameter will give you errors. Stick to all. It isn't the same, but it does max out each computer's memory which means that we wont be under stressing anyone with 8 gigs of ram and 64bit.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 12-06-2009, 11:03 PM   #47 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: WI, USA
Posts: 1,556
Send a message via MSN to yzmxer608
Default Re: **The Official TF LINPACK Thread**

That's true, I never thought about it that way (stresses everyone's system to it's max no matter what it is).
__________________
yzmxer608 is offline  
Old 12-07-2009, 07:09 AM   #48 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: **The Official TF LINPACK Thread**

Yea, I think we should redo the list and let everyone run it in a way that would take advantage of their system. I mean it is a benchmark of their system :P so if you're scaling down the test to let everyone else run it, then you're not giving them room to show off.


So I say press the reset button and lets start fresh with no guidelines on the settings
__________________

Core i7 920 @ 3.0Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD5
6gb G.Skill 1600mhz/9-9-9-24
Corsair 750XT
EVGA GTX 260---216core
WD 640gb
14590 3dmarks @ stock
wafflehammer is offline  
Old 12-07-2009, 11:08 AM   #49 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: **The Official TF LINPACK Thread**

Quote:
Originally Posted by wafflehammer View Post
Yea, I think we should redo the list and let everyone run it in a way that would take advantage of their system. I mean it is a benchmark of their system :P so if you're scaling down the test to let everyone else run it, then you're not giving them room to show off.


So I say press the reset button and lets start fresh with no guidelines on the settings
There wasn't really any guidelines, the memory was set to "all" in the first place...:P
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 12-07-2009, 11:15 AM   #50 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: **The Official TF LINPACK Thread**

You forgot to post your score.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
High Performance Linpack on Xeon 5500 v. Opteron 2400 Hefemeister Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 07-06-2009 04:44 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.