Linking case audio to soundcard? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-01-2007, 08:00 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Sydzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 416
Default Linking case audio to soundcard?

Hey,

So I got an Audigy 4, and my case has connection ports for headphone and microphone which would be so **** handy at the top of my computer. They are made to be plugged into the motherboard and do it through there, but apparently then they would just be using the inbuilt audio on the motherboard.

Was wondering if there is any way to connect them to the audio jacks on my soundcard so I don't need to reach around the back of my comp whenever I wanna plug in my headphones.
__________________

__________________

92% of teenagers have put some stupid made up statistic in their signature. If you're one of the 8% that aren't quite as gulliable, copy this.
Sydzy is offline  
Old 08-01-2007, 08:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
Web Programmer
 
murdocsvan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 896
Default Re: Linking case audio to soundcard?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sydzy View Post
Hey,

So I got an Audigy 4, and my case has connection ports for headphone and microphone which would be so **** handy at the top of my computer. They are made to be plugged into the motherboard and do it through there, but apparently then they would just be using the inbuilt audio on the motherboard.

Was wondering if there is any way to connect them to the audio jacks on my soundcard so I don't need to reach around the back of my comp whenever I wanna plug in my headphones.
i know what you mean, and i want the same thing for my computer too. what you need to do is examine the soundcard and see if there is an male connector poking up that looks the same as the one on the mothboard for audio_out and connect the case jacks too that. good luck and tell me if you solve this problem.
__________________

__________________
PHP + MYSQL, ASP.Net + C# with SQL, WCF, Python, XHTML + CSS, HTML5, JavaScript, jQuery, Flash + ActionScript 3, XML, SVG.

Web Developer Portfolio
murdocsvan is offline  
Old 08-01-2007, 08:32 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Sydzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 416
Default Re: Linking case audio to soundcard?

nah, the only connector the soundcard got is from the optical drive to the sound card, which you dont bother using anymore considering that was only necessary for REALLY REALLY old school optical drives.
__________________

92% of teenagers have put some stupid made up statistic in their signature. If you're one of the 8% that aren't quite as gulliable, copy this.
Sydzy is offline  
Old 08-01-2007, 08:59 AM   #4 (permalink)
Web Programmer
 
murdocsvan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 896
Default Re: Linking case audio to soundcard?

hmm i couldnt find a pin for my soundcard either. sorry i cant help, but maybe there's some way of connecting the soundcard to the case audio through the motherboard. i dont know, im just speculating.
__________________
PHP + MYSQL, ASP.Net + C# with SQL, WCF, Python, XHTML + CSS, HTML5, JavaScript, jQuery, Flash + ActionScript 3, XML, SVG.

Web Developer Portfolio
murdocsvan is offline  
Old 08-01-2007, 11:28 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Sydzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 416
Default Re: Linking case audio to soundcard?

mmm, yeah, i think it just defaults through to the motherboard sound drivers.
then again, i got those disabled in windows, wonder if the mobo will figure it out? might try tweaking something in bios or something, idk

if anyone has any ideas please leave a post, ill report back if i have any luck

thanks for your help murdoc
__________________

92% of teenagers have put some stupid made up statistic in their signature. If you're one of the 8% that aren't quite as gulliable, copy this.
Sydzy is offline  
Old 08-02-2007, 01:46 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 359
Default Re: Linking case audio to soundcard?

there are do it yourself guides for this however sometimes it's hit and miss but here you go.
Creative Labs X-Fi/Audigy Sound Card to Front Case Port Adapter Cable Products Model: SB-FP-AC97 [SB-FP-AC97] : Performance-PCs.com, ... sleeve it and they will come (premade one if you feel lazy)

http://img435.imageshack.us/img435/7...dcardj13vq.gif (they are all layed out the same more or less)
How to: Connect Front Panel to X-Fi Music - Overclock.net - Overclocking.net

Note: Only some audigy4's seem to have the connector above, if not you're fairly SOL.
__________________

__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
kiyotaka is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thoughts on the Antec 900 joey1 New Systems | Building and Buying 69 07-14-2007 06:04 AM
Better case? mnelson07 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 06-17-2007 01:57 PM
Very funky...audio hardware disappears! cclpgapro Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 04-20-2007 01:04 AM
For Audio Experts only! Stunner1127 Computer Audio and Multimedia 5 03-30-2007 06:34 PM
Audio Challenge Stunner1127 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 03-30-2007 12:30 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.