Limiting CPU Usage on a program - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-18-2004, 10:30 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 10
Send a message via AIM to SimonTheMime Send a message via Yahoo to SimonTheMime
Default Limiting CPU Usage on a program

Hey, I have a GoToMyPC-like program called 'Win-Hand' that allows me to be on my PC through the palm, I've been trying to run the game 'Lineage2' and have the Win-Hand server running at the same time, so I can play it whilst on the Tungsten C.

First time: I opened L2 with the Win-Hand on my palm, it went alright until lineage2 opened.

Second Time: This time, I changed the Win-Hand server to HIGH priority, and Lineage2 to LOW priority. I even went into the game the lower the refresh rate so that it would take less CPU, enabling my server to send information and have the game on at the same time. - This time it worked, I logged in, then ittook too much CPU again, and the server couldnt send anymore information to my Palm.

Third time: I did the same thing as the Second Time, it worked until Log-In (in the game), but this time, I had the Blue-Screen (Physical Memory Dump) come up, and I've got a pretty good computer...

So, I've tried numerous times after this, nothing seems to work, is there any program that limits CPU usage, and the kb/s for each program (I've tried NetLimiter, no good) so that all the bandwith won't be going torward L2.

So, please help me, give me suggestions on a good CPU limiter/kbs limiter.

Thanks in advance,
Simonthemime.
__________________

SimonTheMime is offline  
Old 04-18-2004, 06:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

man, your not going to get this to work. It's hard enough for a terminal session to allow a game to run, let alone running a game from a workstation that is also sending the date out to a PALM. It's a cool thought, but I would suggest not doing it. Cause I don't think it will ever work.

As far as limiting process, you should enable real-time on the server side. That way, if the server needs cycles, it can take them from whatever it needs.

Best of luck to you.
__________________

Inaris is offline  
Old 04-20-2004, 10:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 10
Send a message via AIM to SimonTheMime Send a message via Yahoo to SimonTheMime
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Inaris
man, your not going to get this to work. It's hard enough for a terminal session to allow a game to run, let alone running a game from a workstation that is also sending the date out to a PALM. It's a cool thought, but I would suggest not doing it. Cause I don't think it will ever work.

As far as limiting process, you should enable real-time on the server side. That way, if the server needs cycles, it can take them from whatever it needs.

Best of luck to you.
It worked for about 5seconds, I was on the game on my Palm, then my computer go the Blue-Screen DUMPING MEMORY thing (too much CPU).

Meh, I can settle for watching streaming porn from the computer on the palm. Good stuff. Cheers.
SimonTheMime is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.