Let's see what a 6000+ can do - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-08-2007, 09:01 PM   #21 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Let's see what a 6000+ can do

Quote:
Originally Posted by psp_crazy1 View Post
good overclock man. whats the stock clock??

The stock of the X2 6000+, is 3.0GHz.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-08-2007, 09:02 PM   #22 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Let's see what a 6000+ can do

and fyi maroon1, i'm a core 2 duo fanboy..... i think.....
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-09-2007, 12:11 AM   #23 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Let's see what a 6000+ can do

word up apokalipse. great oc, man. keep pushin it. what speed do you have your ram set to?
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 06-09-2007, 02:03 AM   #24 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Let's see what a 6000+ can do

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
word up apokalipse. great oc, man. keep pushin it. what speed do you have your ram set to?
I'm not using a divider with it; at 3.4GHZ, my RAM runs at 452MHZ (DDR2-906). This is with 2.25V and 4-4-4-12 timings.

My RAM is 2x1GB A-Data DDR2-800, with stock timings of 5-5-5-18. It's doing pretty nicely, I'd say.

Anyway, I'm able to run it at 3.4GHZ, prime95 stable, with 1.5V

at 3.5GHZ, I have to increase the voltage to at least 1.55 in order to run 3dmark05/06 properly, and at least 1.6V if I want to run prime95 for a while, though after a few minutes it will get errors.

So it looks like I need to burn in the CPU more, if I want it to be stable past 3,5GHZ. Either that or get vapour phase change cooling. But I don't have enough money for that.

I'm really liking how my motherboard is handling things, though. I couldn't ask for more from this motherboard.

Superpi is not a strength of AMD, but I'm consistently getting
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-09-2007, 02:10 AM   #25 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Let's see what a 6000+ can do

i never have pulled less than 30 seconds on superpi. grrrr.
could you be getting the errors in p95 from the ram running too tightly?
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 06-09-2007, 02:28 AM   #26 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default Re: Let's see what a 6000+ can do

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
Superpi is not a strength of AMD, but I'm consistently getting
Not bad, not bad. My E43 at 3.4GHz gets 16.813s.

The AMD chips are starting to look really nice now that the price has dropped down.
joshd is offline  
Old 06-09-2007, 02:30 AM   #27 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Let's see what a 6000+ can do

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
i never have pulled less than 30 seconds on superpi. grrrr.
could you be getting the errors in p95 from the ram running too tightly?
I don't think so. I tried limiting it to 667, to see how far my CPU could go. It didn't make a difference.

As it stands, I'll just try burning in the CPU (also, the AS5 needs to settle in)

I'll also need to replace the water in my watercooling system. There's a few spots of algae on the side of the reservior (not much, but there really shouldn't be any).
I'll also try looking up other coolants. ATM I'm using some blue coolant from Cooler Master.

Coolant & Dye
Quote:
Cooler Master SAG-K1-U2 Liquid Cooling Thermal Conductivity Fluid. Anti-Freezing, High Resistance, Anti-Corrosive, Anti-Bacteria. As used in the CoolerMaster Aquagate Cooling System.
any recommendations are welcome. I'd prefer it to be blue, to match my case theme.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-09-2007, 02:37 AM   #28 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Let's see what a 6000+ can do

good luck then man keep us posted of the progress!
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 06-09-2007, 04:45 AM   #29 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: Let's see what a 6000+ can do

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
that is with the overclock moron...... a stock e6600 vs 6000+ @ 3.5 ghz

In the website I posted they were comparing a stock E6600 to a stock 6000+
maroon1 is offline  
Old 06-09-2007, 05:02 AM   #30 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: Let's see what a 6000+ can do

Quote:
Originally Posted by darksideleader View Post
You seriously gonna do this everytime maroon? there are many tests with many different variables and all different results you can't just use 1 and say thats the right one.
Welcome to AnandTech.com [ Article: AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+: Competing with Aggressive Pricing]
In the website you posted they have done 20 benchmark test. E6600 won in 12 of them and 6000+ won in 8 tests

I posted two websites in my previous post and E6600 won in the majority of benchmarks. In other word, three websites are showing that E6600 is overall better.


Quote:
more tests and showing that some areas AMD is better and the Intel one is better at some other places too. All of this at stock speeds of course
I never said that AMD 6000+ can't beat it in some of the tests.

I don't have problem if you say that 6000+ performs on par with E6600. Because the difference between those two is pretty small.

However, I was replying to "vernong1992" who claimed that 6000+ might perform on par with a e6600 or even beat it. And this is totally wrong, because it is completely the opposite. The words "or even beat it" has shocked me


However, even if we suppose that 6000+ performs on par with E6600. E6600 would still be the better choice for consumers since it consume much less power, and overclocks much better. And it cost the same.
__________________

maroon1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Gaming Rig Trepkos New Systems | Building and Buying 49 04-24-2007 02:42 AM
e6600 or 64 X2 6000 soupman New Systems | Building and Buying 11 04-10-2007 09:58 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.