LCD in 3.5" floppy drive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-20-2004, 01:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 6
Default LCD in 3.5" floppy drive

I'm building a computer for my self and I'm planing on modding it a little.
One of plans is to put a small LCD screen in to a 3.5' floppy drive slot. I want it to slide out and then pop up, kind of like those in-dash DVD players for your car just smaller. Can somebody help me? Maybe I'll use a portable video player.
__________________

_Sysco33 is offline  
Old 10-20-2004, 09:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

read up on this mod article:

http://www.casemodgod.com/6_lcd_case_mods.htm

It shows 2 different ways to put in an LCD screen in your 5.25" bay so maybe you can get some ideas and hints from that. One makes it so that it is slideable and takes up only one slot while the other takes 3 of the 5.25" bays. Just us the same principle from the slideable method and you should be able to get your desired results.
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 10-20-2004, 10:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 6
Default

Hey thanks Nubius. That really helped out. But I kind of wish I could create some sort of program or something to display usefull info displayed on it like CPU temp, frame rates, CPU speed and stuff like that but also have some cool backround animation. Could any one help me out with that?
_Sysco33 is offline  
Old 10-21-2004, 01:38 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 393
Default

just get one of these (depending on ur color preference):
http://www.xoxide.com/vl-system-lis-premium1.html
http://www.xoxide.com/vl-system-lis-premium2.html

they fit into a 5.25" drive bay i believe and they come with their own software that you can program them with... that way u can select what information they display
__________________
\"It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it.\"
-Aristotle
_SiLv3R_ is offline  
Old 10-21-2004, 02:42 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

yeah man I know dern well you can make the monitor display anything you want. It an easily show your BIOS, but yes I'm definitely positive theres some software out there to do it. Really all you'd have to do is have that monitor as your extended monitor and install motherboard monitor 5 for temperature, fan, and voltage readings, and whatever software comes with your motherboard for any other features you might want. But I'd suggest not Overclocking in windows.
Nubius is offline  
Old 10-24-2004, 11:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 6
Default

thanks again Nubius.
__________________

_Sysco33 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.