The Last Case I'll Ever Buy

Status
Not open for further replies.

TK421

Solid State Member
I've been building my own PCs for about 8 years, but there has always been a big elephant in the room that i've managed to just sneak by build after build: Organization & cable management.

Cheap mid-tower ATX cases have always been my go-to, and I should have learned my lesson by now. Cramped workspace, laughable cable management, poor airflow, high dust buildup, and shotty case construction has claimed many a hardware in my time.

Today I have decided to change that. I am looking to go big, and hopefully never have to purchase a case again. I want something very durable and very expandable. I want the maximum amount of space with the minimum amount of clutter possible.

Considerations:
Housing a 3D graphics workstation. Will want to accommodate the future possibilities of: 3-way SLI, E-ATX (or even EEATX) motherboard, water cooling, and probably some other nifty stuff. The number of drive bays are not as big of a deal to me because I use a 2.5'' SSD for boot and an external RAID enclosure for storage. Chances are, I will remove any 3.5'' holding bays.

Cable management has always been an issue for me, and I do not currently own a modular PSU. I definitely want a case with openings for cable routing behind the motherboard tray. Dust buildup is also an issue in my apartment, so cleanable intake filters would be great.

I've always hacked and finagled intake fans into my empty 5.25'' and 3.5'' bays, so I'd love something that has the front face already lined with fans and wide open ventilation.

I don't have immediate plans to dive into water cooling, but it is something I believe I will want to try out one day. That being said, I am still looking for a case that has water cooling accommodations such as in/out holes in the rear, and maybe even a space inside for a reservoir or whatever might be able to squeeze in there.