Laptop overclock - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-17-2008, 03:03 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
MetalOwns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Franklin, WI
Posts: 432
Send a message via AIM to MetalOwns
Default Re: Laptop overclock

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
That's why you don't get a Dell...
Don't you have, or were/are going to buy, a Dell?

The pin mod works sometimes I think. I've read about it. Just do your research, and try it if you want.
__________________

__________________
SYSTEM:
RAIDMAX SMILODON Case
LANPARTY DK P35-T2RS
Intel Core2Duo E6600 (2.40) @ OC'ing
2 gigs G.Skill DDR2 800 RAM @ OC'ing
2x 320 Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 (RAID 0)
EVGA Ge-Force 7900 GS KO @ 710/985 @ 1.48v/2.20v
LITE-ON 20x DVD+/-R Burner/12x DVD-RAM w/ LightScribe
LITE-ON 48x CD Burner/16x DVD-ROM
Hanns∑G 19" Widescreen LCD
Windows Vista Ultimate Edition
MetalOwns is offline  
Old 05-17-2008, 03:14 PM   #12 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Laptop overclock

Quote:
Originally Posted by MetalOwns View Post
Don't you have, or were/are going to buy, a Dell?

The pin mod works sometimes I think. I've read about it. Just do your research, and try it if you want.
I buy Dells, alot of em. But I don't bech about overclocking. I just use it.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 05-18-2008, 04:15 AM   #13 (permalink)
Idealist Gamer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 419
Default Re: Laptop overclock

If you paid any attention to what you've read you'll remember that it wasn't mine when it was bought. In fact it wasn't even my brother's. He bought it used cheap. I simply want to get the best performance possible out of it. I didn't buy my desktop either. Obviously given the choice you shouldn't buy a dell under most circumstances.

Thanks MetalOwns thats pretty much what I've heard. Apparently it only works on that one type at that one FSB speed and even then it might not work. Still, like I said I've heard nothing about it hurting anything so it doesn't seem like it'd be a bad thing if it didn't work. It seems as though it would simply run as normal.
Dakaggo is offline  
Old 05-18-2008, 07:06 AM   #14 (permalink)
Techalicious
 
Redmo0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,566
Send a message via MSN to Redmo0n
Default Re: Laptop overclock

Can you do pencil moding?
__________________
Back to stay?
Redmo0n is offline  
Old 05-19-2008, 04:58 AM   #15 (permalink)
Idealist Gamer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 419
Default Re: Laptop overclock

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redmo0n View Post
Can you do pencil moding?
What do you mean by that? I've never done it personally but it details how to up the voltage in the article. I have doubts if I will even need to based on what it says.

I may have to use the one that ups the voltage the least amount but I'll run some tests before I try it.
__________________

Dakaggo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I need a new laptop - here is what I'm looking at: Aro2220 Laptops and Notebooks 5 09-21-2008 01:26 PM
XP PC networked with Vista laptop mnelson07 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 9 08-06-2007 06:57 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.