Laptop overclock - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-13-2008, 01:19 AM   #1 (permalink)
Idealist Gamer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 419
Default Laptop overclock

So my brother has a laptop that he might get rid of. I noticed the Ram is 533 but its running at 400. Its a Dell. I looked it up and found this:

Laptop Pin Mod Overclocking Guide - LaptopLogic.com

I was thinking about doing it if he let me have his laptop. His computer 100% fits the bill, right processor type, I'm sure. Any objections? Suggestions?
__________________

Dakaggo is offline  
Old 05-15-2008, 05:29 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techalicious
 
Redmo0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,566
Send a message via MSN to Redmo0n
Default Re: Laptop overclock

I don't think you can overclock dells. Not sure about Pin mods.
__________________

__________________
Back to stay?
Redmo0n is offline  
Old 05-15-2008, 10:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Idealist Gamer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 419
Default Re: Laptop overclock

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redmo0n View Post
I don't think you can overclock dells. Not sure about Pin mods.
Thats kind of the point. You can't overclock them using software. So this is supposedly a way to do it by modding the hardware. They describe how it works in pretty good detail and it makes sense for the most part. A few of the commenters said it works and a few said it didn't but none said it broke their computer. They said it might not work on all the laptops too.
Dakaggo is offline  
Old 05-16-2008, 11:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Idealist Gamer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 419
Default Re: Laptop overclock

Come on no replies besides that? Isn't anyone going to call me a moron and tell me it doesn't work? No one to tell me that its a good idea but its dangerous to try? Not a SINGLE PERSON to say that it probably won't work or that they wouldn't recommend doing it?

I mean really, good or bad, I just want some sort second opinion on this.
Dakaggo is offline  
Old 05-17-2008, 12:31 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,958
Send a message via AIM to Burn
Default Re: Laptop overclock

can you undo a pin mod?
Burn is offline  
Old 05-17-2008, 01:35 AM   #6 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Laptop overclock

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakaggo View Post
Come on no replies besides that? Isn't anyone going to call me a moron and tell me it doesn't work? No one to tell me that its a good idea but its dangerous to try? Not a SINGLE PERSON to say that it probably won't work or that they wouldn't recommend doing it?

I mean really, good or bad, I just want some sort second opinion on this.
No... just no.... can't oc dells, don't even try. He already said no.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 05-17-2008, 03:49 AM   #7 (permalink)
Idealist Gamer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 419
Default Re: Laptop overclock

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
No... just no.... can't oc dells, don't even try. He already said no.
Well thats reassuring -_-. I might actually listen to that comment if you gave any sort of actual information regarding the subject. Besides who is "he"? Its not like I'm asking permission. Have you even heard of someone trying this or are you simply guessing that you can't OC a dell because they block it. The same way the Wii can't be hacked and Macs can't get viruses. Has anyone actually heard of something like this or knows someone who has? Guesswork and hearsay aren't useful at all.

Also at first I thought they wanted you to weld (they want thin copper wire, for one) but they don't mention that at all so it seems that you merely connect them. Unless this would fry your processor then it should be able to be undone. Considering there hasn't been a single comment concerning that then I'm not too worried. I mean if someone did try it and it destroyed their processor they would certainly comment. Instead most of the comments say that it did work or it didn't work.
Dakaggo is offline  
Old 05-17-2008, 01:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Laptop overclock

I have done a lot of research on trying to OC a Dell. I have a Dimension 8400. Thru my research it came down to the BIOS. It being a Dell specifc BIOS i have not found any way to flash it to a different version to allow for any kind of hardware overclocking.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-17-2008, 02:47 PM   #9 (permalink)
Idealist Gamer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 419
Default Re: Laptop overclock

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli213 View Post
I have done a lot of research on trying to OC a Dell. I have a Dimension 8400. Thru my research it came down to the BIOS. It being a Dell specifc BIOS i have not found any way to flash it to a different version to allow for any kind of hardware overclocking.
Indeed there is absolutely no way that I've ever heard of to overclock a Dell Desktop or any Dell using the BIOS. Thats why this is a hardware mod. On top of that it only works on a single type of processor. Pentium M running at a 400mhz FSB. If it really didn't work at all it wouldn't make much sense to limit it to a single processor like that...

I wish I could overclock my desktop v_v.
Dakaggo is offline  
Old 05-17-2008, 02:58 PM   #10 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Laptop overclock

That's why you don't get a Dell...
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I need a new laptop - here is what I'm looking at: Aro2220 Laptops and Notebooks 5 09-21-2008 01:26 PM
XP PC networked with Vista laptop mnelson07 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 9 08-06-2007 06:57 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.