Lapping a TRUE - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-29-2008, 10:16 AM   #31 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
synergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy
Default Re: Lapping a TRUE

Yea I didn't think they would be able to tell. On the other hand when the IHS is ground down and polished it's obvious!
__________________

__________________
i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit


HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Old 02-29-2008, 02:57 PM   #32 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Lapping a TRUE

Quote:
Originally Posted by krazyq View Post
how would they find out if you overclocked it?
When you send it back and it looks like charcoal
__________________

__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 03-02-2008, 11:36 AM   #33 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: Lapping a TRUE

lol, ya pretty much.
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 03-02-2008, 02:49 PM   #34 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ra'anana, Israel
Posts: 2,395
Default Re: Lapping a TRUE

I don't think over clocking , leaves physical signs on the CPU.
__________________
www.heavyportrayals.com - Lifting one stone at a time.
Preacher is offline  
Old 03-02-2008, 11:59 PM   #35 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default Re: Lapping a TRUE

if you fry the cpu it does leave signs in not on the cpu. the damage can be examined but like i said earlier it is a very expensive and time consuming process and Intel won't do it for an RMA. obviously if you send back a cpu that has a knife jammed in it, a lapped IHS and burn marks externally they'll refuse the RMA. if there are no obvious signs of tampering they'll approve it. one day they may implement some sort of logic and memory to keep track of clock settings but i doubt it. then the cpu could be examined inexpensively.

still, it comes down to morals. personally i don't quite feel comfortable with having even a mega corporation like Intel paying for my own mistakes. in the end though i'd probably still RMA a fried chip because i just can't afford to replace it.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-04-2008, 07:56 PM   #36 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: Lapping a TRUE

Quote:
Originally Posted by thirdshiftdj View Post
When you send it back and it looks like charcoal
u could say power surge or mother board overload. there are lots of other reasons that could be blamed besides over clcoking, i was told this by an xfx representative.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 03-05-2008, 09:53 AM   #37 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ra'anana, Israel
Posts: 2,395
Default Re: Lapping a TRUE

XFX are over clocker friendly
__________________
www.heavyportrayals.com - Lifting one stone at a time.
Preacher is offline  
Old 03-05-2008, 12:09 PM   #38 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
synergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy
Default Re: Lapping a TRUE

As are OCZ, but Intel is so huge that (like said earlier) it's just easier for them to process the RMA instead of having some big investigation into whether or not it was OCd
__________________

__________________
i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit


HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
S-FLEX vs Slip-Stream vs ?? (for TRUE) Durftard Overclocking and Modding 3 12-28-2007 02:30 AM
Tuniq or True, which ones better? Chrysamere Overclocking and Modding 44 12-24-2007 06:34 PM
true quad core processing robina_80 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 15 12-04-2007 09:02 PM
Lapping Procs, yes or no? Alexinator Overclocking and Modding 9 08-30-2007 10:22 PM
Cant load XP on vista laptop??? Is this true? jdmhotness Laptops and Notebooks 5 08-07-2007 04:37 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.