Lapping a TRUE - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-28-2008, 01:09 PM   #21 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 302
Default Re: Lapping a TRUE

Quote:
Originally Posted by krazyq View Post
how would they find out if you overclocked it?
I don't think they can, unless you overclocked so much it caught on fire, then they can probably tell you overclocked.
__________________

__________________
Current Gaming Rig Running Windows 7 Ultimate
Q9450 @ 3.0GHz 1.200v // Gigabyte EP45T-UD3P // 3GB Kingston 1800Mhz DDR3 9-8-8-24-2T //
Thermaltake Toughpower 850W // 2 Raptor X's in RAID 0 // Antec Twelve Hundred Case
GTX 275 // Xigamatek Rifle 120mm // Creative XtremeGamer X-Fi
dark strike1 is offline  
Old 02-28-2008, 03:21 PM   #22 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Lapping a TRUE

Quote:
Originally Posted by dark strike1 View Post
I don't think they can, unless you overclocked so much it caught on fire, then they can probably tell you overclocked.
well thats what i was thinking...
unles you raise the volt so much and it leave like a scar or something...idk...
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 02-28-2008, 05:39 PM   #23 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: Lapping a TRUE

Well, i doubt they would find out if you overclocked your cpu, but lapping it on the other hand.... if you screw that up your on your own.
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 02-28-2008, 08:07 PM   #24 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 2,215
Send a message via MSN to Akubane
Default Re: Lapping a TRUE

Quote:
Originally Posted by charles_scott View Post
They can tell if it has been overclocked or to many volts have been pushed into it. Seriously, it does leave burn lines and such in it, and it can and will show abnormal wear in some places.
apparently this is how
__________________


C2D E8400 | Diamond 4870 X2 | Biostar Tpower I45 | 4GB G.Skill PK
Corsair 750TX | Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | CM Haf 932
2x Seagate 1TB 7200.11 | Asus Xonar D2X | LT Z-5500's
Razer Lycosa | Razer Lachesis | LG L245WP-BN 24" MVA LCD
Akubane is offline  
Old 02-28-2008, 09:03 PM   #25 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default Re: Lapping a TRUE

Quote:
They can tell if it has been overclocked or to many volts have been pushed into it. Seriously, it does leave burn lines and such in it, and it can and will show abnormal wear in some places.
they could but they won't. it's an expensive procedure to look inside a cpu. they just take the RMA orders, it's cheaper to replace than investigate. my friend RMA'd a QX9650 that he had taken on a liquid nitrogen run to something like 5 or 6GHz.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-28-2008, 09:11 PM   #26 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: Lapping a TRUE

but isnt a unlocked version covered under warranty even OC.
__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 02-28-2008, 09:26 PM   #27 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default Re: Lapping a TRUE

as far as i know there is no processor that has ever covered overclocking under warranty.
Quote:
Intel's view of the matter is that it considers its warranty voided if its products are operated outside of their specifications, regardless of whether the product in question is a CPU or a chipset.
from Intel Core 2 Extreme QX9770: UPDATE | Tom's Hardware

this is in reference to a quad extreme. just because they unlock a multiplier doesn't mean they will cover you running a processor outside it's specifications.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-28-2008, 09:30 PM   #28 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: Lapping a TRUE

oh, cool.

I think veedub(if it wasnt you im sorry, I am way to tired..) said something about only extreme's being covered. But that is good to know.
__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 02-28-2008, 09:46 PM   #29 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,507
Default Re: Lapping a TRUE

Quote:
Originally Posted by nOcLuE98 View Post
oh, cool.

I think veedub(if it wasnt you im sorry, I am way to tired..) said something about only extreme's being covered. But that is good to know.
Nah, that was me that said that. I thought I read somewhere that extreme's were covered =\.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 02-28-2008, 09:52 PM   #30 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: Lapping a TRUE

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Nah, that was me that said that. I thought I read somewhere that extreme's were covered =\.
oh, its all good.

sorry veedub... if you're out there :-D
__________________

__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
S-FLEX vs Slip-Stream vs ?? (for TRUE) Durftard Overclocking and Modding 3 12-28-2007 02:30 AM
Tuniq or True, which ones better? Chrysamere Overclocking and Modding 44 12-24-2007 06:34 PM
true quad core processing robina_80 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 15 12-04-2007 09:02 PM
Lapping Procs, yes or no? Alexinator Overclocking and Modding 9 08-30-2007 10:22 PM
Cant load XP on vista laptop??? Is this true? jdmhotness Laptops and Notebooks 5 08-07-2007 04:37 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.